Ice Cream Cake (EXCEPT NOT!)

So sometimes I love to use Stumble. Usually when I’m stumbling, it means it’s like 2 o’clock in the morning though. BUT I almost ALWAYS come across fantastic recipes that I want to try. The first one I found that we tried out for the Lost Finale party is an ice cream cake, except not how you would expect it to be. AND IT WAS THE MOISTEST CAKE I’VE EVER HAD!!!!! I heard it kept pretty well, too, but Nick and I had to head out the next day, so I left it with Chase.

But I took some pictures!!

"Ice Cream Cake" with Nick!

Decorated for LOST night!!! Dharma logo! And then we put ocean sprinkles on it…I think we used dolphins and sharks?

"Ice Cream Cake" decorated (by Nick) for the last episode of Lost! 😦

Ingredients:
1 box cake mix
1 pint ice cream, softened (but not melted!)
3 eggs
1 cup water
Frosting

Preparation:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Grease a bundt pan (or two 8-9″ cake pans, that’s what we had to use cuz we didn’t have a bundt pan).

Beat all the ingredients together with a mixer (I used my kitchenaid!) for about four minutes, pour into pan, and bake for 45 minutes (yes it sounds long, but it really did take that long, I PROMISE!)

Take it out, let it cool, FROST AWAY!!! OM NOMS!

The best thing about this cake was you can really use any combination of ice cream, cake mix, and frosting. We used the cheapest chocolate cake mix, B&J’s Phish Food ice cream, and cream cheese frosting (plus Dharma decorations!). So fantastic! I want to play around with some rainbow dot and/or cookie dough. The Phish food added some nice chocolate chunks in the cake, which was fantastic.

SO GOOD and easy!!

Here’s the original recipe site, she took pictures of the process, which was nice.
Ice Cream Cake

Leave a Reply

