Quinoa Cakes with Poached Eggs, TJ’s Red Pepper Spread, and Goat Cheese

Quinoa Cakes with Poached Eggs! I served on top of some sauteed zucchini and yellow squash that I needed to get rid of.

So this recipe features four of my recent obsessions: Quinoa, poached eggs, red peppers, and goat cheese.  When I came across it, I knew I had to check it out.  And holy s*&(, this is one of the most phenomenal vegetarian recipes I’ve ever come across.  I’m in love.  It’s also not really that difficult, at least with egg poachers like I have!  (Check out the Light Eggs Benedict recipe I posted to see pictures of what I’m talking about)

The recipe I found called to make a Roasted Red Pepper and Walnut Pesto, but I had some TJ’s Red Pepper Spread (which is amazing on anything, but I especially love it on breakfast sandwiches: english muffin, egg, spinach, cheese, turkey bacon, and red pepper spread = YUM), so took the easy route.  Still delicious, and probably healthier.  I also halved the quinoa cake part of the recipe and still came up with two decent sized servings, so…I guess that’s up to you?  The post below is what I made.

TJ's Red Pepper Spread. So delicious.

Ingredients:

1/2 C dry quinoa
1 C water
1 egg, lightly beaten
1/8 C chopped onion
1 clove minced garlic
1/8 C flour
1/8 C Parmesan cheese (I used shredded, but grated works too)
Salt & Pepper
Oil
4 tbs Trader Joe’s Red Pepper Spread
4 eggs
1/4 C goat cheese, crumbled

Directions:

Simmer the quinoa (medium-low heat) in water until it has been absorbed and the quinoa is tender.  Drain

Mix the cooked quinoa, the beaten egg, onion, garlic, flour, Parmesan cheese, and salt & pepper in a bowl (add more flour if it’s not sticking).

Heat the oil over medium heat.  Form four patties of the quinoa mixture and cook in oil, 2-4 minutes each side until golden brown and crispy.  Put on paper towels to drain oil.

Poach the four eggs.  Make sure they are still runny!  That makes the dish.

Divide the cakes onto two plates (or put the other serving in the fridge, the cakes reheated well…obviously you’d have to poach eggs fresh for the leftover patties).  Spread a tbs (or however much you want) of the Red Pepper Spread onto each cake, top with a poached egg, and immediately sprinkle with goat cheese.  SUCH TASTY MELTY CHEESY GOOEY GOODNESS.  The sweetness of the pepper and the bite of the goat cheese is a phenomenal combo.

Here’s the recipe I followed/tweaked:
Closet Cooking: Quinoa Cakes with Roasted Red Pepper & Walnut Pesto, Goat Cheese, and a Poached Egg

Leave a Reply

