Southwestern Stuffed Peppers

Um, YUM!

I was inspired to try stuffed anything after eating some homemade jalapeno poppers made by my friend Colin while we were out on the Olympic Peninsula a couple weeks ago.  I was hesitant to try them because I really don’t like spicy, plus I was always like, “how the eff do you eat something stuffed??”, but he had completely de-seeded them, stuffed them with cream cheese, topped them with cheese, and wrapped them in bacon (no breading!  Not that bacon is any better…) and they were delicious!  So of course I had to attempt making something stuffed.  I pinned this Southwestern Stuffed Pepper recipe a few days ago and finally had some time to try them out!

They were great!  I’m still making my way through the huge bag of quinoa I got at Costco, so I subbed Quinoa for the rice, and I used Trader Joe’s Smoky Peach Salsa.  It was unbelievably delicious.

A quick note: I only wanted to make three peppers worth, so I cut back on some ingredients, which I note below, but if you were making a 4th, definitely use more!  Although I had some leftover filling, not enough for a whole fourth pepper.  Maybe for a taco snack later this week?  🙂

Sprinkled with cilantro and a side of avocado.

Southwestern Stuffed Peppers

Adapted from Simply Love Food
4 Servings

Serving Size: 1 whole pepper (2 halves)
Calories: 335
Fat: 11 g
Carbs: 38.1 g
Fiber: 4.2 g
Protein: 21.4 g

Olive oil
1/2 pound lean ground turkey (I used 93/7)
1 heaping tbs taco seasoning
1/2 C cooked quinoa (I only ended up using 1/3 C)
3-4 bell peppers, halved and seeded
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed (I used 1/2 the can)
1/2 C frozen corn
1 jar Trader Joe’s Smoky Peach Salsa (I wish I’d had a little more than just the 12 oz…the actual recipe calls for 15-16oz jar)
1/2 C Shredded Reduced Fat Cheddar Jack (I use Lucerne 2% from Safeway)

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Brush the pepper halves with oil, place into a pan, and roast for 20-25 minutes while you prepare the filling.  They should come out just cooked through.

Pre-roasted!

Cook the turkey meat.  Drain fat.

In a separate bowl, mix the turkey meat, taco seasoning, quinoa, black beans, frozen corn, and salsa.  Mix together well.  (And don’t eat too much of it before putting it in the peppers!)

The filling…I was eating it right out of the bowl, it was bomb.

Stuff the pepper halves with the stuffing.  You will probably have some stuffing leftover, but you can get quite a bit into them.  Put back in the oven for another 15-20 minutes.

All baked and covered in cheese…almost done!

Sprinkle with cheese and place back into the oven only until the cheese has melted.  Sprinkle with some cilantro, and serve with some avocado slices, sour cream, or guacamole!

One thought on “Southwestern Stuffed Peppers

Leave a Reply

