Avocado Pasta Sauce

My newest obsession: pasta sauce made from avocado!!!  LOVE IT.  It’s the most delicious creamy tasty yummy thing ever.  I think I could eat it all the time.  Also, it’s so much better for you than alfredo sauce, and tastes better and creamier!  With better protein and healthy fats!!!!

I pretty much just did everything to taste.  I also threw stuff in there that I needed to get rid of, so it’s a sort of random recipe.  What I post below is what I used, but I’ll notate what I think is optional.  (Stats do not include any of the optional ingredients EXCEPT the goat cheese.  Because it’s bomb.)

Spaghetti with Avocado Sauce, tomatoes, pancetta, and goat cheese

Pasta with Avocado Sauce

2 servings
Serving Size: 1/2 recipe
Calories: 386
Fat: 15 g
Carbs: 48.8 g
Fiber: 9.1 g
Protein: 14.1 g

Whole Wheat Thin Spaghetti (I did two servings worth)
1 avocado
2 tsp minced garlic
1 tsp lemon juice
Salt & Pepper
Red Pepper Flakes
Handful cherry tomatoes, halved
Green onions, chopped
Pancetta chunks (I found these at TJ’s…leave out for a vegetarian dish!) (opt)
Zucchini, ribboned (or quartered chunks) (opt)
Olive Oil (opt)
Cheese for top (I used goat cheese, it’d be good with bleu, feta, parm…pretty much anything) (opt for lactose free!)

Cook pasta as directed.  Drain.

Saute the pancetta in some olive oil to brown it up, remove from pan.  Saute up the zucchini ribbons (or chunks) for just a couple minutes, to soften it up.  Put with pancetta.

Mash the avocado, lemon juice, garlic, salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes together in a bowl.  Add about half a cup of water (you can use some leftover pasta water if you want) to make it creamy.  Add the cooked pasta, pancetta, zucchini, tomatoes, and green onions.  Toss together.

Serve right away topped with cheese!

(It kept pretty well for a couple of days in the fridge…it browned a bit, but still totally tasty!)

YUMMM Goat cheese!

One thought on “Avocado Pasta Sauce

Leave a Reply

