Zucchini Lasagna

I am a lasagna *freak*. I love making a huge pan of it and living off it for lunch and dinner for a few days. And I don’t get sick of it!! But I’m a stickler for keeping it classic. Just basic meat sauce, ricotta, noodles, and lots of mozzarella. (Unless, of course, I find a BOMBTASTIC recipe like Rachael Ray’s Golden Autumn Vegetable Lasagna!!)

YUMMMM meat sauce, cheese, and zucchini.

So I pinned this recipe for Zucchini Lasagna, and decided to give it a try. Pretty much I just made my basic lasagna and subbed zuc for noodles. So good! But it’s hard to go wrong with zucchini, tomato sauce, and a lot of cheese. A good way to cut back on carbs, too.

(I did an honest serving size and did 1/2 the pan instead of 1/4 of the pan, because I love lasagna…stats are still not awful, especially considering you’re getting your veggies AND your protein in one dish!)

Zucchini Lasagna

2 servings
Serving Size: 1/2 pan
Calories: 473
Fat: 15.7 g
Carbs: 37 g
Fiber: 9.7 g
Protein: 48.4 g

1/2 lb lean ground turkey
1 can tomato paste
1 envelope spaghetti sauce mix
1 tbs minced garlic
Red Pepper Flakes
Olive Oil
2 medium zucchini, cut into 1/4 inch thick slices lengthwise.
3/4 C fat free ricotta
1 egg (I used egg beaters!)
Italian Seasonings
1/2 C part skim Mozzarella cheese, shredded

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grease an 8×8 pan.

Brown ground turkey. Throw in the minced garlic, and add the can of tomato paste with two cans worth of water (so 12oz) (The envelope of sauce mix will say to add three cans of water, but I like my sauce thicker). Add the mix, and red pepper flakes to taste. Bring to a boil, then let simmer five minutes.

While simmering, sauté the zucchini strips until tender, 2-3 minutes. (I accidentally missed this step and used raw, which was still very good, but it would prolly be better cooked.)

In a bowl, mix the ricotta, egg, Italian seasonings, and a handful of Mozzarella cheese. Set aside.

Post layering, pre oven.

The layering: 1/2 meat sauce, 1/2 zucchini, 1/2 ricotta, rest of meat sauce, rest of zucchini, rest of ricotta. Top with some more mozzarella and pop in the oven for 30 minutes until the cheese is looking done.

Serve with some garlic bread (because you gotta get those carbs from somewhere, yeah?) 😉

One thought on “Zucchini Lasagna

Leave a Reply

