Quinoa Oatmeal

As many of you know, I have a huge bag of quinoa I’m slowly working my way through (but totally worth it…bought it at Costco!!).  So when I found this recipe, of course I had to try it!  Sweet quinoa?  OK!

Seriously.  It’s a bomb recipe!  I don’t like oatmeal (it’s a texture thing), but I LOVED THIS.  And it gave the perfect protein punch to start my day.  I had legit energy all morning for my shows.  It was perfect.

Quinoa Oatmeal

4 servings
Serving Size: 1/2 cup
Calories: 250
Fat: 1 g
Carbs: 51.5 g
Fiber: 6.5 g
Protein: 10 g

2 C milk, plus some for serving (<-save some calories with unsweetened vanilla Almond Milk)
1 C quinoa, rinsed
3 tbs light-brown sugar, plus more for serving
1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon, plus more for serving
Craisens (or apples, or peaches, or berries…something sweet and fruity!)

Bring milk to a boil in a small saucepan.  Add quinoa, bring to a boil again.  Turn the heat down to low and let simmer, covered, until 3/4 of the milk has been absorbed (about 15 minutes).

Stir in the brown sugar and cinnamon.  Continue cooking, covered, until almost all the milk has been absorbed (about 8 minutes).  Stir in the berries, and serve with additional milk, sugar, and cinnamon to taste.

Leave a Reply

