Mediterranean Meatloaf Cupcakes

Ever since going to Spain, I’ve been obsessed with Mediterranean cuisine.  The food I had in Southern Italy completely blew my mind, and I would love to go back and do nothing but eat and cook.

So here’s an attempt at creating an American class with a Greek twist.  Already, I can tell you that the mozzarella didn’t work, and I should have mixed feta in with the meat mixture.  It needed more salt, which I’d hoped would come from the cheese in the middle, but I think the feta would add that extra flavor boost.  So the recipe below reflects that; the pictures do not.  Just a heads up.  🙂  They still taste good, though!

(I think the next time I do this, I’m going to try adding a tomato sauce on top before baking…kind of like salsa on top of HG’s Turkey Taco Meatloaf, which I also made in tandem with this recipe.  I froze those and I’m going to eat them next week!)

Full points for plate presentation.

Mediterranean Meatloaf Cupcakes

3 Servings
Serving Size: 3 muffins
Calories: 280
Fat: 3.8 g
Carbs: 8.3 g
Fiber: 1.7 g
Protein: 49 g

1 pound ground turkey (at least 93%!)
1/2 C Egg Beaters
~1 roasted red pepper, chopped
1/4 C chopped spinach, or more to taste
3 oz Fat Free or RF Feta Cheese, plus some for topping
1/4 C sliced olives
1 tbs minced garlic
Salt, Lemon Pepper, and Oregano to taste
Trader Joe’s Roasted Red Pepper & Eggplant Spread (opt for topping)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Grease a 12 cup muffin tin.

Mix everything (except the TJ’s Spread) together in a bowl.  Fill the muffin cups with the meat mixture.

Meat, Spinach, Red Peppers, Olives, Garlic!

Mediterranean Meat Loaf AND HG Turkey Taco Meat Loaf!  (You can see where I put the string cheese chunks in the middle…diiiidn’t work…)

Bake for 30 minutes.  Remove from muffin tins and place on a paper towel.  The fat from the turkey has no where to go, so I like to let them “drain” for a few minutes before eating.  Put a tsp dollop of the TJ’s spread and a sprinkle of feta cheese crumbles on top, and you’re good to go!

The mozzarella center

Look at these perfect leftovers for lunch tomorrow!!! The boys are gonna be super jealous.

I served mine with a steamed artichoke and a(n attempted) deconstructed Greek salad, which I made with cucumber wedges, roasted red pepper, olives, cherry tomatoes, on top of a 50/50 spring mix, drizzled with some lemon juice and olive oil, and topped with, of course, some more feta.  Bomb!

One thought on “Mediterranean Meatloaf Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

