Roasted Romaine Chicken Caesar Salad

Seriously, a beautiful dish. A tired standard tweaked and served in a way people wouldn’t expect!!

Yup.

I roasted that lettuce.  And it was delicious.  It was fine for leftovers, though not as good as it was fresh out of the oven.  An interesting take on a classic favorite.

I am not one to order salads when I go out to eat.  I just don’t.  If I’m paying for a restaurant dining out experience, I want meat.  I want their best, omnivorous, tasty, juicy, flavorful dish.  That has never been a salad.  But when I have a salad starter option?  I am a Caesar girl all the way.

I KNOW!  I know it’s like the worst possible option, but I looooove Caesar salad.  With the parmesan, and the lemon, and the pepper, and the creamy dressing…so hard to say no to that.  So I bought myself a bottle of Kraft’s Caesar Vinaigrette to use at home, and I’ve actually been pretty happy about it.  And a few days ago, I went through a deconstructed salad freak-out via pinterest, and came across this recipe from Bon Appetit.  I tweaked it (gross, real whole anchovies!), and made one of the tastiest “salads” I’ve had in a long time.  And one of the moistest chicken breasts!  I was actually worried it hadn’t cooked all the way through, hence why it’s cut into two pieces, but damn, it was just perfectly cooked, and had maintained a plump juiciness I have yet to achieve in other recipes.  Amazing!

I did have a problem keeping the breading on the chicken while I was eating it, and that may have been my modification with subbing Egg Beaters for oil, but if anyone has any suggestions, PLEASE comment below…I want to re-try this recipe after I do some more brainstorming on how to make it work better.

Roasted Romaine Chicken Caesar Salad

Adapted from Bon Appetit
2 servings

Serving Size: 1/2 heart + 1 chicken breast
Calories: 428
Fat: 13.4 g
Carbs: 11.3 g
Fiber: 6.5 g
Protein: 44 g

2 7-oz chicken breasts
1/4 C Reduced Fat Grated Parmesan Cheese
1/4 C Panko Breading
2 tbs Egg Beaters
1 tbs EVOO
Italian Seasonings to taste
Salt & Pepper to taste.
2 tsp minced garlic, separated
1 heart of romaine
Kraft Caesar Vinaigrette (2 tbs)
Lemon Pepper
Bacon Bits (opt)

Preparation:

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.  Line a cookie sheet with foil, and spray with baking spray.  Sprinkle the chicken breasts with salt and pepper to taste, and put on cookie sheet.

In a bowl, mix the Parmesan, panko, Egg Beaters, Italian seasonings, and 1 tsp of the minced garlic.  Season with more salt and pepper if desired, and put the mixture onto the breasts.  Roast for about 15 minutes, until the crumbs have started to brown.  (The recipe says 10, I had to do about an extra five to make sure the breasts were mostly cooked all the way through before the next step.)

Cut the heart of romaine in half.  Drizzle with the olive oil and remaining tsp of garlic (and bacon bits, if using), sprinkle some lemon pepper on those babies, and place in the oven with the chicken.  Roast until chicken is fully cooked and lettuce has started to brown.  Remove from oven, plate, drizzle the lettuce with a little Caesar vinaigrette, and enjoy!  YUMM.

Leave a Reply

