Sushi Quinoa Salad

My absolutely new favorite salad I have ever made in my whole entire life.

Yummy, tasty, and colorful!

Wellll…ok, my Summer Spinach Salad still might take first place, BUT, this one was more filling (thanks, quinoa!), so it is my new favorite MEAL salad!

All to taste, of course.  Because that’s how I ROLL.  And you can (and should) totally add seaweed strips, I just don’t care to eat those outside of a roll, so I didn’t.

I was inspired by my recent obsession with deconstructed salads (see my Chicken Caesar post from yesterday), and I also STILL have that ginormous amount of quinoa in my pantry (YAY COSTCO!).  So if you’re more of a rice person, definitely feel free to sub brown rice for this.

I also had some fun with Instagram on these photos.  The colors are so bright!

Sushi Quinoa Salad

1 Serving
Calories: 406
Fat: 12.9 g
Carbs: 42.7 g
Fiber: 10.5 g
Protein: 30.7 g

Handful of 50/50 blend mixed greens, or just spinach
1/2 C cooked quinoa
1/2 avocado
1 small carrot
1/2 cucumber, peeled
1/2 C or so of cooked shrimp or crab (you could totally sub smoked salmon, ahi tuna…anything you’d find on a sushi roll)
Dressing (guess-timated amounts…make to taste):
2 tbs Reduced Sodium Soy Sauce
1.5 tbs Rice Vinegar
Squirt of Sriracha Sauce
Sprinkle of ground ginger

Chop the carrot and cucumber into small, bite-sized chunks.  Slice the avocado.

In the bowl, layer: greens, quinoa, carrots & cucumber, avocado, protein.  Mix the dressing ingredients together, pour onto salad!  You may need to make more than I did.  (I ended up just adding a little more soy sauce to the salad in general.  I freaking love soy sauce.)

This would be a great layered salad in a jar as well.  I’ll work on that…

You could also make it vegetarian by not using meat, maybe adding tofu or just more veggies.  It’s pretty filling with the quinoa.

Leave a Reply

