Zucchini Pizza Boats

I love pizza.

Which is a problem when you’ve realized you eat waaaaay too many carbs, and not enough of the other stuff.  Well, I had to make a choice between cutting back on carbs or dairy, and since dairy still has protein (and I have a pint of Fat Free Ice Cream, which is a godsend, btw, and about 10 different cheeses in my fridge), I chose to cut back on carbs for a bit.  At least while I’m attempting to get back into shape.  :-\

Unfortunately for that, I just got a job at a pizza place in Seattle.  Which I am extremely excited about.  Except that I’m gonna be around pizza all the time this summer.

Willpower, Heather.  Willpower.

Yeah, we’ll see how this goes.

So I came home last night from my first training shift, STARVING (*note to self, eat lots before going to work), and wanting mother freaking pizza.  Luckily, I had planned on making these zucchini pizza boats, so I had all the ingredients.  And I definitely ate two zucchinis worth of zucchini pizza.  Whoops.  Except not, because this recipe is low-cal.  And cheap!  YES!

Zucchini Pizza Boats

Adapted from Budget Bites
2 servings
Serving Size: 1 whole zucchini (2 halves)
Calories: 216
Fat: 9.9 g
Carbs: 21.7 g
Fiber: 8.3 g
Protein: 12.7 g

2 large zucchinis (you want them long and/or thick…yeah, I know how that sounded…but seriously)
2/3 C Pizza Sauce (I used Safeway Select)
1/8 C RF Grated Parmesan Cheese
1/8 C Panko breading
1/2 C favorite pizza toppings, chopped small (pick 1 or 2…I chose olives!)
2/3 cup shredded part-skim mozzarella (really, however much you need…I just grabbed it out of the bag and put it right on the boats, so I estimated)

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with foil and spray it with baking spray.

Cut the zucchinis in half, and scoop out the insides, setting the insides aside in a separate bowl.  Try to get as much as possible, but leave about 1 cm around the edge.

Chop the zucchini insides up into small pieces, mix in the pizza sauce, cheese, panko, and toppings.  You can easily use peppers, olives, bacon bits, mushrooms, pepperoni, sausage, ANYTHING you’d find on pizza…it’s a super versatile recipe.  Just make sure you can chop them up into small pieces, and that you don’t add too many that the boats are overflowing!

Fill the boats with the pizza mixture, and top with mozzarella cheese.  Bake for 18-20 minutes, until the cheese has browned.  You can cook them a little longer if you like the zucchini softer, but this came out perfect for me.  A little crunch, but not so firm that it tasted raw.

SIDE NOTE: OH MY LANTA I DIDN’T EVEN REALIZE THESE WERE VEGETARIAN UNTIL JUST NOW!!!  Meatless Monday Staple, for sure!

Leave a Reply

