Skinnified Eggs Benedict Biscuit Cups

Lord have mercy.

In the words of Danny K, this dish is the epitome of slutty goodness.

YES

In the words of my roommate and I…
Me: I didn’t like it at all… (displays empty plate)
Roomie: I didn’t lick my plate clean… (displays plate, devoid of any residual saucy-ness)

And even better?  It’s freaking freezable.

I pinned a Pillsbury recipe a while ago, and I owed somebody some home cooked goodness in exchange for a music arrangement (Chris R rocked some Judy Garland for me), and I decided to give this a try.

I decided to skinnify it, of course…I used the “Hollaindaise sauce” from my Light Eggs Benedict recipe, and I followed in the footsteps of the skinnified Breakfast Biscuit Cups and used RF when possible.  HALLELU!

Skinnified Eggs Benedict Biscuit Cups

Adapted from: Pillsbury Eggs Benedict Biscuit Cups
8 Servings

Serving Size: 1 muffin
Calories: 202
Fat: 14.3 g
Carbs: 23.8 g
Fiber: 0 g
Protein: 20.3 g

1 can (16.3oz) Reduced Fat Pillsbury Biscuits
4-8 slices of ham, cut into quarters (I used large rectangular lunch meat ham, so I only needed 4)
1/2 cup Egg Beaters
2 tbs butter or margarine
1.5 C (2 containers) low fat or fat free lemon flavored Greek Yogurt (like Chiobani)
2 tbs low fat mayonnaise
Salt
Pepper
Eggs, one per biscuit (make them as served, obviously not freezable!!)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a muffin tin with cooking spray.  (If you have a large 8-cup muffin tin, that would be best, but I only had a 12-cup.)

Make the sauce:  Melt butter over low heat in a small saucepan. Meanwhile, whisk together yogurt, egg beaters, mayonnaise, lemon juice, and salt in a small bowl. Gradually whisk yogurt mixture into butter and heat until just warmed, whisking often, about 25 seconds (be careful not to overcook the sauce, as it will curdle).

I sauteed the ham, but that’s a personal preference…I like my ham a little crispy.

Roll or stretch the dough out to flatten it a bit, and then put in the muffin cups, pressing up the sides and leaving a nice hollow center.  Place 1/8 of the ham in each muffin.  Top with 1-2 tablespoons of sauce.  Bake for 25-30 minutes, until the outside has started to brown.  Remove from muffin pan, and place on plates.

Fresh out of the oven and ready to be topped with more yummy goodness.

Poach the eggs, and place one egg on top of each biscuit.  Spoon another tablespoon of sauce on top, and enjoy.

Adapted from: Pillsbury Eggs Benedict Biscuit Cups (also a recipe for Bloody Mary Shooters…check it out!)

Leave a Reply

