Chicken Club Stuffed Tomatoes

Remember that new job at a pizza restaurant, and my need for willpower?

Yeah…working on that…

But this is another homemade by ME from MY HEAD recipe!  So proud.  And inspired by a pizza from work.

Chicken Club Pizza.

Crust.  Red Sauce.  Chicken.  Bacon.  Tomatoes.  Onion.  Spinach.  Served with a side of ranch.

In my attempt to cut back on carbs, I decided I wanted to make a healthified chicken club chicken salad.  Then I decided instead of chopping up cherry tomatoes, I would just put the whole thing into a hollowed out tomato, ala Mediterranean Stuffed Tomatoes.  And bake it.  And eat it.

And it would be good.

Topped with Bleu Cheese

Two side notes before I let you go crazy and run with this recipe screaming to the grocery store.
1) I had 3 tomatoes on hand.  This would have been better with 4 tomatoes, and two servings.  I stuffed the three tomatoes FULL and still had probably half a tomato’s worth of stuffing left.  I also was unbelievably full after three tomatoes.  So two would have been plenty.
2) I would also add spinach and/or green onions to this somehow.  I just didn’t have either on hand.  Do with that what you will.

Chicken Club Stuffed Tomatoes

2 Servings
Serving Size: 2 tomatoes
Calories: 329
Fat: 17.4 g
Carbs: 15.4 g
Fiber: 9.6 g
Protein: 24.6 g

1 chicken breast, cooked (I bake it in a some broth with salt & pepper at 350 degrees, about 15-20 minutes)
2-3 slices of ham, cut into small pieces
1/2 packet of ranch dressing mix (I’d guess I used about 3/4 tbs total?)
1 medium avocado
1 wedge Laughing Cow Cheese
4 tomatoes (I use tomatoes that are still on the vine…those are my favorites!)
Cheese for top (opt)

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.  Grease a cooking pan

Spray a pan with some cooking spray, and saute the ham pieces for a couple minutes until crispy.

Shred chicken breast.  Mix in some of the ranch seasoning.  Set aside.

Mash the avocado up with ranch seasoning and the laughing cow cheese.  I recommend adding the ranch slowly, and tasting along the way…it can get pretty strong pretty fast.  Add the ham and the shredded chicken.  Mix together.

The making of the stuffing: Ham, Guac, add ham, add chicken. Beauty.

Hollow out the tomatoes.  The easiest way to do this is to cut just the top off, cut around the edge of the tomato, leaving about 1/4 inch, and using your fingers to twist & scoop the insides out.  Messy, but totally worth it.

Fill the tomatoes with the chicken salad mix, top with cheese if you want, and bake for about 15 minutes.  Serve hot!  So yummy.

About to hit the oven! But so pretty and green!  (I like this picture better than the finished product one!  The color!!!)

Leave a Reply

