Skinnified Broccoli Crunch Salad

I love Safeway’s Broccoli Crunch Salad from the deli.  Tasty tasty broccoli, raisens, sunflower seeds (or maybe it’s pine nuts), pretty sure there’s bacon in it…it’s just delicious and to die for.  And it’s a salad, right?  So it’s healthy?

But then I saw the stats: 1 Cup = 298 Calories, (135 Cals from Fat) and 15g of fat.  Holiness.

So I made my own skinnified version.

WAAAAAAAY better.

So flippin’ good.

This is the vegetarian option, so no bacon (I needed another Meatless Monday side!), and even more calories could be cut using a lower fat mayo, or cutting the sunflower seeds.  The apple actually added a nice crunchy-ness, and it really upstaged the seeds.  Unnecessary calories, but I’ve included them in the calorie count.

Also.  I would totally bring this to the LST Opening Day Picnic if I was going to be there this summer.  Shout out to y’all, I hope to make it out, and I hope you have a fabulous season!!!  An excellent picnic/BBQ side dish to bring!

Skinnified Safeway Knock-off Broccoli Crunch Salad

5-6 Servings
Serving Size: 1 Cup
Calories: 161
Fat: 6.1 g
Carbs: 23.3 g
Fiber: 4.2 g
Protein: 2.6 g

1 12-oz bag Broccoli Slaw
1/4 C red onion, finely chopped
1/4 C red apple, finely chopped
2-3 oz raisins (I had two small boxes of 1.5oz, 130 calories each)
1/8 C sunflower seeds
1/4 C mayo (I used Kraft with Olive Oil, 45 cals per tbs)
1/4 C Fat Free Sour Cream
1 tbs lemon juice
1 tbs Splenda
1 tbs rice wine vinegar (I think white vinegar would work too)

Literally just mix it all together and serve.  It’s so easy and delicious.

Leave a Reply

