Easy Raspberry Mango Sorbet (and a pinterest experiment gone wrong)

For some reason, fruit has always been the hardest thing for me to incorporate into my diet.  It’s not that I dislike it, it’s just always expensive, or I have to cut it up, <insert 100 more excuses here>…

However, fairly recently, I have discovered Whole Foods frozen fruits.  Smoothie HEAVEN.

But first, allow me to share with you my new favorite dessert recipe that involves said frozen fruit.

Tasty!

Raspberry Mango Sorbet

2 servings
Calories: 122
Fat: 0 g
Carbs: 26.7 g
Fiber: 3.3 g
Protein: 1.7 g

2 C frozen mango chunks
1/2 C frozen raspberries
Juice from 1 navel orange
Juice from 1 lemon
Pinch of cinnamon

Blend together, and enjoy.  Freeze half if you don’t want to devour it in one sitting, although let’s be honest…would that really be terrible?  (I added some mini chocolate chips to the top of mine!!  Ssssh, don’t tell!)

Really, you could do this with any of the frozen fruits.  It makes a tasty sorbet-style dessert.  It’s vegan, too!  I had to add a little coconut milk because I was being impatient with the blender, but if you let the fruit thaw *just* enough, it shouldn’t be a problem.

And now, the section that should be called, “Why doesn’t my food look like it does on pinterest?”

This recipe has been extremely popular on pinterest, so I gave it a try.  Tahh DAAAAAAAAH!

(what the fuuuuuu….?)

Hold the phone…what is this?

It’s the dried strawberries that everyone’s been pinning, dummy!

You know, cut up some strawberries, bake at 210 degrees for 3 hours, tasty healthy attractive snack?

I accept tasty and healthy, but what I do not accept is attractive!

Seriously, it actually was pretty tasty.  The one thing I will say though is PUT THE STRAWBERRIES SKIN DOWN!  I put a lot of them cut-side down, and that was a HUGE mistake.  They totally stuck to the cookie sheet like nobody’s business.  Boo.

Leave a Reply

