Chicken with Roasted Tomato Red Pepper Sauce and Goat Cheese

There’s a recipe in here somewhere…but first you get to see me brag about my brother Nate!

My little brother just graduated college (Washington State University!), and has decided to join the Navy. We are so proud of him!! Third generation Navy man…my Bap-Bap (Mom’s dad), my uncle (Mom’s brother), and now Natey!!! At the last minute, we found out that we could take him out to dinner the night before he flew out for basic, and that we could attend is swearing in, so we were really excited to get to spend a little more time with him, and I was excited that all this was happening super close to me in Tacoma! So I booked it south to attend both events, and so glad I was able to make it.

Out to dinner for Nate’s last meal before basic!

20120620-133653.jpg

We are so pretty.

Nate getting sworn in! (Top right is an attempt at a candid epic photo of Nate while Mom is trying to keep it together in the background)

So please please PLEASE keep my little brother in your thoughts and prayers. He’s terrified, and so nervous, but I think he’s overall excited about what this can lead to. I hope he gets to do a lot of traveling! I think this will be an amazing experience and opportunity for him, and that he made a really smart, adult, and BRAVE decision, and that it really is in his best interest. LOVE HIM LOTS!!

But now, on to the food.

I found a low fat, low cal recipe for chicken breast, chunky tomato sauce, and goat cheese.  And I said YES PLEASE.  Except I didn’t want to buy canned tomatoes.  I really am trying to cut back on my sodium, and also just use more FRESH ingredients.  AND LOOK AT THESE TOMATOES!!!  THEY’RE BEAUTIFUL!!!!  So I made my own sauce.  And I added caramelized shallots, which probably rockets the calories up like nobody’s business, but they were delicious (and completely optional).

Chicken with Roasted Tomato Red Pepper Sauce and Goat Cheese

4 Servings
Serving Size: 1 4oz chicken breast w/ sauce
Calories: 277
Fat: 11.3 g
Carbs: 10.3 g
Fiber: 2.1 g
Protein: 26.6 g

4-5 tomatoes, halved (I use the tomatoes that come on the stem…because they’re pretty…but romas would work, too!)
5-6 cloves of garlic
1 red pepper, halved and de-seeded
Olive Oil
Salt
Pepper
Red Pepper Flakes
Basil, fresh or dried
4 chicken breasts, either beaten to about half the original thickness, or 2 cut in half (4oz of chicken per serving)
2oz goat cheese
Caramelized Shallots (opt & not included in nutritional info, see below recipe for instructions)

Sauce

Roast the tomatoes, garlic, and red pepper together…I drizzled a little EVOO, and sprinkled some salt & pepper over the tomatoes and garlic (everything said I didn’t need to on the peppers), I roasted them at 375 until the tomatoes were wilted, and the pepper skin was starting to blacken.  This allows you to just peel the skin right off.  It’s great.  You may have to roast the pepper a bit longer than the garlic and tomatoes.  (Some people have other, preferred methods of doing this…it’s really not a big deal, do it however you need to!  I just like the taste of the roasted veggies.)

Throw the tomatoes and pepper into a blender, squeeze the garlic out of the glove, and chop it up.  Add salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and basil to your own taste.  You probably won’t need any more liquid, you want the sauce to be fairly chunky.

Chicken

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Season the chicken breasts.  In a pan on the stove top, over medium heat, brown each side of the chicken breasts for about 1-2 minutes.  Put into a Pam-sprayed baking dish, top evenly with the sauce and the goat cheese.  Bake for about 10-15 minutes, or until the chicken is cooked through (mine took 20 because my chicken was too thick, so pound away beforehand!)

Optional: Caramelized Shallots

Slice the shallots so they maintain the nice rings.  In a non stick pan over low-medium heat, add a tbs of butter (or butter substitute…the Brummel & Brown that I use worked fine) per shallot, and let the butter melt.  Add the shallots and a tbs of sugar (Splenda works) to the pan.  Allow the shallots to soften and brown, and then add a tbs of red wine vinegar or balsamic vinegar…red wine is less potent if you’re looking to feature the shallot flavor, the balsamic is kind of over-powering, but does add a nice touch if you’re looking for that.  Allow the vinegar to cook down, remove the shallots from the liquid, and YUM tasty caramelized shallots.

Like I said, not low cal option, but oh so delicious.

Not the prettiest dish, but DEFINITELY tasty!!

2 thoughts on “Chicken with Roasted Tomato Red Pepper Sauce and Goat Cheese

    • Absolutely. But for serious, you immediately need to get your roasting pan and blender out and make the shit out of this dish. I made two servings, right, and I re-heated the second one last night while I was writing the post…STILL AMAZING

Leave a Reply

