Lasagna Rolls

Meet Barbra (Babs) the Basil Plant.

Babs the Basil Plant

I went to Trader Joe’s to pick up some $2 chuck (which ultimately inspired the Berry Sangria from yesterday), and realized I’d forgotten to grab fresh basil for the pesto (Bob Harper recipe) I am going to make this week.  SHOOT.  Saw Babs sitting out front and I was like “perfect”.  A plant that keeps on making basil (hopefully) so I won’t have to keep buying expensive fresh basil from the store.  LOVE IT.  Of course, I’m terrified she’s gonna up and die on me because I don’t have the best luck with plants…do I need to replant her or anything?  Is she cool to stay in the container TJ’s sold her to me in?

Regardless.  Check out the below recipe.  I’m stoked about it.  I got to use some fresh basil.  And I make BOMB (easy, tasty, cheap) lasagna.  I was inspired by a pic I posted on Pinterest, but because I’m egotistical when it comes to my own lasagna, and I already had the ingredients in my pantry, I didn’t even look to see what they did and just made my own lasagna, except in roll form.  Turned out so great!!!

Makes four rolls, two servings.

Lasagna Rolls!

Lasagna Rolls

2 servings
Serving Size: 2 rolls
Calories: 298
Fat: 5.3 g
Carbs: 45.7 g
Fiber: 10.1 g
Protein: 17.7 g

Four whole wheat lasagna noodles (Eating Right brand from Safeway is great!)
1 60z can tomato paste
1 packet spaghetti seasoning
Minced Garlic
Fresh Basil, chopped
Red Pepper Flakes
1/2 C LF or FF ricotta cheese
1/8 C Egg Beaters
1/8 C RF Parmesan Cheese
Italian Seasoning
1/4 C Mozzarella Cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Cook the lasagana noodles as per the directions on the box.

In a pan on the stove, make the sauce: I like my sauce thick, so I do the can of paste and only two cans worth of water.  Add the Spaghetti Sauce seasonings, and the minced garlic, basil, and red pepper flakes to taste.  Allow to simmer for about five minutes.

In a bowl, mix the Ricotta, Parmesan, Egg Beaters, and Italian Seasonings to taste (I use probably about 1-2 tsp).

Spray an 8×8 pan with cooking spray (I only had a larger pan…note to self, need 8×8 and loaf pan).  Dry excess water off the noodles and lay them out.  Spread a thin layer of the ricotta, and then a thin layer of sauce onto each noodle.  You don’t want it all oozing out when you roll!  Roll each noodle up kind of loosely; this isn’t sushi, it doesn’t need to be tight.  The cheese and sauce will keep it together well.  Put them in the pan, cover with a some more sauce (this makes enough sauce for probably two batches.  Or some spaghetti later on in the week!), and top with some mozzarella cheese.

Keep rollin’, rollin’, rollin’, rollin…

Place in oven, and bake for about 20 minutes, until the mozzarella has started to brown a bit.

It’s like a cinnamon roll of lasagna!

Plate a couple rolls, sprinkle with basil, and eat immediately. So good!!! And great for a party, or for freezing!!! These freeze perfectly, and are the ultimate single serving portion type of food. I served mine with some turkey zucchini quinoa meatballs (I need to remake them to figure out what I did…they turned out great, and I didn’t write anything down!!! UGGGH), but these are also great vegetarian rolls as well. ENJOY!

Pretty!!

One thought on “Lasagna Rolls

Leave a Reply

