No Oil Pesto and Hummus…(and some *great* TJ finds!)

Dear Bob Harper,

Please marry me tomorrow and be my personal trainer/kitchen buddy.  I love you.

And I love your book.

So this is my official: GET YOUR ASS TO YOUR NEAREST BARNES & NOBLES (or Amazon.com) AND ORDER HIS BOOK!!!  It’s great!  It’s straightforward.  It has do-able menu plans to follow, with decent recipes.  I’ve been loosely following Week 1 this week, and it’s yummy.  I even put all the berries I bought into a big bowl (raspberries, blueberries, and strawberries), mixed them up, and portioned them out into 1/2 cups.  They’ve been great for dessert!  Get that sweet kick at the end of a meal, and it’s already easy to grab.  Fab.

So I made Bob’s pesto sauce (thanks Babs!) and the hummus…both used vegetable broth & lemon juice instead of oil, which brought the calories down like nobody’s business.  I even used some of the pesto in my eggs this morning, and it turned out great.  Both need some stirring before eating, as the liquid doesn’t soak in really great, but very worth it.

(I am not 100% sure why my stats differ so much from Bob’s…I use the Livestrong Create My Own Recipe page to figure out calories, and I used the ingredients I thought would be most standard.)

20120622-231323.jpg

YUMMY PESTO SAUCE! On chicken and vegetables.

Bob Harper’s No Oil Pesto

4 servings
Serving Size: 2 tbs
Calories: 38
Fat: 2.9 g
Carbs: 1.9 g
Fiber: 0.8 g
Protein: 1 g

1 C chopped fresh basil
1 tbs grated Parmesan cheese
1 clove garlic
1/2 tbs lemon juice
1/4 C low sodium vegetable broth
2 tbs chopped walnuts, cashews, or pine nuts (I had sunflower seeds, so I used that)

Blend together in a blender or food processor.  Can store in fridge for up to 5 days.

Book Stats: 1 serving = 26 calories, 1.1g protein, 1.8g fat

Hummus and Cucs!

Bob Harper’s No Oil Hummus

6 servings
Serving Size: 1/3 C
Calories: 53
Fat: 0.7 g
Carbs: 12.5 g
Fiber: 3.3 g
Protein: 4.6 g

1 15.5oz can low-sodium garbanzo beans
1/4 C low-sodium vegetable broth
1/2 clove garlic
1/4 tsp salt
2 tbs lemon juice

Blend together in a blender or a food processor.  I added a little pepper on top of mine, which added a little bite.  Next time, I’m going to add Smoked Paprika!!!!  I love that this recipe is totally basic, and it would be easy to add things.  I’m going to be playing with this for a while.

(It also got rave reviews at work…they were making fun of me for bringing a healthy snack, so I made them try it, and most people were surprised at how tasty it was, even for being oil free!)

Book Stats: 1/3 C = 97.5 calories, 4g protein, 1g fat

And now onto some fabulous Trader Joe Finds!!!!

Unexpected Cheddar Cheese

Dill-y!

I love Fearless Flyer! So many great new products, so I always try to get one or two new things to try whenever a new fearless flyer comes out! This month, I grabbed a block of the Unexpected Cheddar and a bag of the Herbs & Spices Popcorn. First off, let’s just say the fact that some of cheese still remains…amazing. SO GOOD. I want to polish off the whole block, but I put it away when I realized I’d already eaten about half. *guilty face* UGH I should never buy a new cheese when I’m trying to eat healthy.
But the popcorn…YES. I loved the Olive Oil popcorn from a few months ago, so I was eager to try their new flavor. But the best part? The serving size is two cups!!! An actual, reasonable serving size on an awesome snack food?

Totally stoked. We’ll see how long the bag of popcorn lasts.

This serving size was so exciting, I attempted to make it look classy in B&W

Leave a Reply

