Chicken Parmesan Meatballs with Zucchini Noodles

Sunday, I walked to work!!!!  CHECK IT OUT!

So I stopped for a tasty cold treat.  That whole “Don’t reward yourself with food, you’re not a dog” bit doesn’t sit with me.  If I work out, I think it’s ok to treat yourself in moderation (I always allow myself dessert or a glass of wine if I’ve worked out for the day).  So I had just a scoop.  Of PEANUT BUTTER CUP N’ PRETZELS!!!

From this place: Peaks Frozen Custard.  Get there.  65th.  Same street I work on.  So stop in for pizza, and end the night with frozen custard.  Delish.

20120625-130344.jpg

But before my walk, I made this for lunch:

20120625-130409.jpg

And it was good.

Here we go!

Chicken Parmesan Meatballs with Zucchini Noodles

4 servings
Serving Size: 1 zucchini & 3 meatballs
Calories: 548*
Fat: 19.3 g
Carbs: 47.8 g
Fiber: 7 g
Protein: 42 g

*Calories & nutrition facts were calculated with my packet red sauce from the Lasagna Rolls…it’s about 128 calories/half cup, so you could definitely save calories using a jarred sauce (the Ragu in my fridge runs 70 calories/half cup…almost half…hence the reason I’m going to work on making my own spaghetti sauce this fall for Christmas gifts!).

1 lb ground chicken
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1/4 C Egg Beaters
1/4 C Reduced Fat Grated Parmesan Cheese
1/4 C Panko Bread Crumbs
2 C + 2 tbs tomato sauce (leftover red sauce from the Lasagna Rolls!)
4 Zucchinis
2 Lemons
2 C Low Fat Part Skim Shredded Mozzarella

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees, and grease an aluminum foil-lined cookie sheet.

Mix the chicken, salt, pepper, Egg Beaters, Parmesan, Panko, and 2 tbs of the red sauce in a bowl with your hands.  Form meatballs (I made 12 medium sized balls) and bake for 20 minutes.

(I varied up the meatballs, and rolled some in extra Panko breading, and stuffed a few with some leftover ricotta cheese I had…both of which I preferred to the plain Chicken Parm meatballs, but it ultimately didn’t matter once I put the sauce on.  So if you’re going to make these by themselves, I HIGHLY recommend stuffing and rolling…the crispy outside of the panko, and the surprise ricotta, was killer fresh out of the oven.  Maybe add some Italian Seasonings and Parmesan Cheese to the panko, and you have a winner winner chicken dinner!)

Top L: Panko, Bottom R: Ricotta Filled, Back: Plain

While the meatballs are cooking, use a mandolin slicer and julienne as many zucchinis as you need, one per person.  Toss each zucchini worth of noodles in the juice of half a lemon (this will give the noodles a slight lemony flavor, but I don’t think it detracted at all).  Set aside until the meatballs are done.

I am not a spaghetti squash fan with red sauce, so this was a great alternative for me!

Place three meatballs on top of the pile of zucchini noodles, and top with half a cup of warm tomato sauce.  Sprinkle with the mozzarella cheese, and eat!!

Leave a Reply

