Trader Joe’s Curry and Quinoa

For Christmas this last year, I gave my siblings homemade cookbooks along with Trader Joe’s bags full of my favorite items…$2 Chuck, dried mango, Red Pepper Tomato soup, and last but not least:

Trader Joe’s Red Thai Curry Sauce

I’m obsessed!  You can do anything with it!  This basic recipe is really easy for a quick dinner.  Usually only takes me about 30 minutes to make!

I gave Em & Nate this following recipe, and Nate called me after he made it for the first time…”so, where can I get more of that curry sauce?”  Poor kid, going to school in Pullman, WA.  A boy after my own heart.

This curry is also great leftover.  AND I LOVE LEFTOVERS!

I’m still working through the Costco size bag of quinoa. So usually I serve it over 1/2 C brown rice, but this time, it was over 1/2 C quinoa.  Awesome.

Trader Joe’s Curry and Quinoa

2 servings
Serving Size: 1/2 cup quinoa, 1/2 amount of sauce
Calories: 493
Fat: 18.7 g
Carbs: 61.7 g
Fiber: 7.6 g
Protein: 25.7 g

 

1 C cooked quinoa or brown rice
EVOO
8 oz shrimp (or two chicken breasts)
1 tsp minced garlic
1 zucchini, chunked
1 C pineapple chunks
1 red pepper, de-seeded and sliced
1/2 of a bottle of TJ’s Red Curry Sauce
Optional veggies: baby corn, carrots, yellow squash, mushrooms, sweet potatoes, butternut squash…it’s pretty unlimited. I recommend going with only 3-4 different veggies just because a bottle of sauce only covers about that much

Cooking the veggies and the quinoa!

Heat some EVOO over medium-high heat in a saute pan (make sure it has a lid!). Add the shrimp and cook until pink. Add the pineapple, zucchini, red pepper, and garlic, and cook until soft. I use a lid here to sort of steam them because I like them less crispy, but it’s kind of a personal preference.

I recommend about 1/2 the bottle of sauce here; sometimes I get a little crazy with the veggies and end up using more than I should, though.  Allow to simmer on low heat for about 5 minutes, serve hot.

Saucy.

Pineapple really makes this dish amazing.

Leave a Reply

