Caramel Apple Cup Pies

I’m obsessed with all things mini and bite-sized.  So when Chuck on Pushing Daisies made Cup-pies, I was like YES.  MUST TRY IMMEDIATELY.

So three years or so later…

Cooling in the window

I don’t bake. I just don’t. My cookies turn out looking like emaciated children from Ethiopia. My cakes are awkwardly lumpy, and yeast has never been my friend.

So I always try to find shortcuts. In this case, reduced fat crescent dough.

THIS IS SUPER EASY!!!!!

I had to go through two batches in which I made some changes the second time around…the first time, I rolled out and cut up the dough when I didn’t need to. The triangles are easy to fold and press into the muffin tin! Then I put the filling in and tried to bake everything together at once, and the bottom didn’t quite cook well enough (in my opinion). The second batch, I cooked the dough for 5 minutes before adding the filling, and that helped a bit, although I ended up cooking them a little longer than I should have. So the recipe below reflects my adaptations to the cooking times! 🙂

Caramel Apple Cup Pies

16 cup pies
Serving Size: 1 cup pie
Calories: 257
Fat: 8.7 g
Carbs: 43.8 g
Fiber: 1 g
Protein: 3.4 g

2 rolls Reduced Fat Crescent Dough
4 gala apples
1 tbs lemon juice
1/3 C brown sugar
2 tbs Splenda
1 box yellow cake mix (I use Jiffy…you’ll have some leftover)
6.5 oz caramel candies (I used the 11oz package Kraft Caramel bits! So easy!)
1/3 C fat free evaporated milk

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees, and grease your muffin tin!

The apple filling

Peel and slice the apples, and cut into bite sized pieces. Mix with the lemon juice, brown sugar, splenda, and 1.5 tbs of yellow cake mix.

Fold up the triangle like this and press into the muffin cups…the corners will hang out a bit!

Using technique above, fill 8 muffin cups with the dough cups.  Bake these for 3-5 minutes, just to get them started.

The toppings!

Melt the caramel and the evaporated milk together over low heat.  Be careful not to burn!

Remove the dough cups from oven and fill with the apple filling.  Top each with 1 tsp yellow cake mix, and 1-2 tsp caramel sauce.

Bake for another 10-15 minutes.  Keep a close eye, as you can see, mine below were a little over cooked.  Whoops!

Batch #2: A little over cooked, but still tasty

2 thoughts on “Caramel Apple Cup Pies

    • See, we lived together right when Betty the Kitchenaid came into my life…beginner’s luck. Since that year, I have not been successful in much baking. I also can’t have baked good in the house because I will consume them all in one sitting (breaaaaaaaaaad), but now I have a workplace to cook for. So we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

