Crab Quinoa Risotto with Goat Cheese

Crab Quinoa Risotto with Goat Cheese

Hello, hours. Goodbye, social life.

Due to the fact that I missed the Servers-go-to-Vegas memo, I am in Seattle working open to close all weekend.

So I kicked it off Thursday night with a date. And I cooked! Hey, I admit, I take full advantage of a new, willing guinea pig…especially when he says the only thing he doesn’t like is Jell-o. So I got really excited and maybeeee a little ambitious.  (Me?  Ambitiously showing off?  No…)

Remember Mary’s Amazing Goat Cheese Crab Cakes? I decided I wanted to take the crab/goat cheese/green onion flavor and adapt it into a risotto. But I wanted to incorporate this new quinoa risotto I’d seen on numerous other cooking blogs.

Overall, this recipe was a complete WIN.
1) I thought it was creamy and delicious.
2) It was EASY.
3) I literally did a quadruple take when I saw the calorie stats.  256 calories per serving?  It’s perfect.

I served it with the rainbow carrots and some beets I got at the market on Wednesday, which didn’t quite match the risotto, but they were tasty none-the-less.

I’m obsessed with these colors and ready for fall

Super easy and tasty.  I followed these basic instructions on Epicurious, but I also tossed the carrots in thyme, salt, and lemon juice in addition to the olive oil.

Peeling the rainbow carrots. Look at that beautiful inside!

The rainbow carrots were a little more bitter than we expected, but gosh DARNIT they are so pretty!  And still tasty!

Preparing to roast

But now the moment you’ve all been waiting for!

(No, not a picture of my date…mom…)

Crab Quinoa Risotto with Goat Cheese

6 servings
Serving Size: 1/6 of pan, ~ 3/4 C
Calories: 256
Fat: 8.67 g
Carbs: 22.5 g
Fiber: 4 g
Protein: 14.4 g

TJ Ingredients

2 tbs olive oil, separated
3-4 shallots bulbs, minced
2 tsp garlic
1 C uncooked quinoa
1 C chardonnay
~4 C reduced sodium, fat free chicken stock
2 6-oz cans crab meat
Half of a lemon, juiced
2-3 tbs chopped chives or green onions
3 oz goat cheese crumbles

The hardest part: patience

With 1 tbs olive oil, sauté the shallots over medium heat. Add the garlic when the shallots start to turn clear. Add the uncooked quinoa and cook for about a minute, then add the cup of chardonnay. Cook until almost all of the wine is evaporated, stirring constantly. Once the wine is mostly gone, add the chicken broth a cup at a time. Slowly cook it down, and continue stirring every 2-3 minutes, maintaining a very low boil. Keep adding the broth and cooking it down until your quinoa is cooked through (I did not use all four cups, but my quinoa cooked pretty quickly.  I also was throwing the lid on there, which might have been part of it).

When you add the last amount of broth you’re going to use, also add the two cans of crab, the chives, and the lemon juice.  Mix all these ingredients into your risotto mixture, and allow the broth to cook all the way down.  Serve immediately, and top with half an ounce of the goat cheese crumbles.

Crab Quinoa Risotto

And here is where I tell you I made skinnified mini cheesecakes with a golden raspberry sauce for dessert…that recipe will be posted tomorrow.

Creamy cheesy crabby goodness.

(And then I definitely made my Light Eggs Benedict for breakfast. Fine, I accept enthusiastically ambitious.)

Finally, a good pic of this dish.

Leave a Reply

