Orzo with Wild & Long Grain Rice (and Moscow via Instagram)

I don’t care for rice.  There.  I’ve said it.

You know how plain white rice is like a standard side dish for EVERYTHING?  So I never really liked it.  I think that’s why I’ve latched onto quinoa so hard, because I just have never been a huge rice side dish fan.

Don’t get me wrong, I love a good paella, fried rice, risotto…but rice as a plain side dish?  Nope.  No gracias.  Not for me.

But seriously this might be my absolutely favorite basic side dish ever.

Every time my dad makes it, I go back for thirds.  It’s delicious and easy.  And keeps well in the fridge for a couple days.

Also, you’ll need it for tomorrow’s Tuna “Noodle” Casserole recipe.  😉  Tah DAAAAAAAH!

Dad’s Orzo with Wild & Long Grain Rice

1/3 C Orzo
2/3 C Wild/Long Grain Rice blend
1 tbs olive oil
2 C chicken broth
Salt to taste

Browning the orzo

Heat the oil over medium heat. Add the orzo and brown for a couple minutes…DEFINITELY keep an eye on it, it burns unbelievably fast (what? That didn’t happen to me or anything…despite my dad totally warning me…). The SECOND it starts to brown, add the rice and the chicken broth. Bring the mixture to a boil, then cover and bring down to a simmer. Cook until the broth has completely cooked down, about 20-30 minutes. Serve with anything.

Legit best side dish ever

Also, PS…I went to Moscow, ID last week to sing in an IRT Benefit.

Too much construction outside of Colfax…but I enjoyed following the pilot car! *dream job*

Fab beer #1: Huckleberry Honey Ale from Bitter Root (Montana)

Got to hang out with this kid…showing off his duck face.  (Sorry Nick, the pic was just too good!!!!)

Fab beer #2: Double Pilsner from Odell (Colorado)

Hungover from the night before…Fab cure #1: Starbucks

Fab Cure #2: The Platter from The Breakfast Club. Only ate about 2/3 of it. SO GOOD.

Went back to David’s (Em’s BF) so she could prep for HP trivia at the bee’s that night. She went a little crazy (in a very adorable way) (even if David and I were kind of laughing at her) 😉

Then she came to see me sing!! Check out her homemade Gryffindor shirt. Nice. ❤ SISSERS!

Fierce Idaho Beltresses. This girl rocks my socks. Check out the video below of us from my senior recital, LOVE IT.

Hopefully we’ll have videos of the performance soon!

2 thoughts on “Orzo with Wild & Long Grain Rice (and Moscow via Instagram)

  1. Plain white rice is stupid. Why oh why would anyone eat those empty calories when there is NO TASTE?!?!?! Love well seasoned brown rice and quinoa! Also, I want that huckleberry beer. Right now. At 7am.

  2. Pingback: Skinnified Tuna Orzo & Rice Casserole | Magic Wands and Wooden Spoons

Leave a Reply

