Week of Wins!

Seriously. This was a week of wins. Food, fun, fitness…super stoked. So I made a Week of Win scrapbook below (with recipe link ups, stories, and pics of the cute boy FINALLY)! Check it out!

Steak Salad with Cilantro Jalapeño Pesto

This salad was AMAZING.  Please please PLEASE check out the original recipe from The Wicked Noodle.  Also, her pictures are bomb.  And I might have taken a bite before I took a picture because I forgot.  Haha.

But the pesto is GREAT on other stuff, too!!  At work, we had some extra pizza crust, so I made gorgonzola-garlic-buffalo sauce-parmesan breadsticks that we dipped in the pesto.  AMAZING.  I’m going to be doing more experimenting with this pesto.

I was inspired by Iowa Girl Eats, and I decided to make a Turkey Wrap with a classic favorite, the Epicurious Roasted Red Pepper Walnut Spread.  I love the spread, it’s great on wraps, on steak, on chicken…I bet it would be great on the quinoa cakes to replace the Red Pepper Eggplant Spread.  SO YUMMY!

Also, as you will see, I have discovered a new iPhone app.  Phonto.  Get it.  You can add awesome fonts to your pictures and open them directly into Instagram.  And it’s FREE!

8/16: Did a 7:30am run to the Greenlake Starbucks so I could talk to Ari on the way back! Perfect!!!
8/21: Did the same run so I could talk to my mommy on the way home, but got hooooorrrrible cramps halfway through. Took a minute to just curl up/stretch, then did a couple minutes of walking, I was able to run them off in a few minutes. But can I just say, this 25 minutes of running is getting easier??? I used to find it *REALLY* difficult to get started again when I took a quick walk break (I could run for another few minutes, but then I’d be pooped because I couldn’t mentally get past it), but recently I’ve been finding it easier to keep going.  Seriously, this is kind of a big deal for me.  I’m really excited with how far I’ve come as a runner!!!  I haven’t run over two miles since junior year of high school in Fitness for Life.  Next, I have to bump it up to 28 minutes, although I may try to jump the gun and just attempt a full 3 mile run.

From the menu: Breast of Chicken Parmigiana “The Believer”
Breaded and pan-fried, served with cream sauce, melted mozzarella and parmesan cheese.

This week, I got to have a late dinner with my AMT family, Danny & Heath! We went to 13 Coins downtown, a 24 hour restaurant with the (2nd) most amazing chicken dish in the world (2nd only to the Black Cypress, Pullman WA, chicken dish).  It was a lot of fun to catch up with some of my favorite boys in Seattle.  But I’m still missing my other favorite AMT boys: Colin, Mike, and Daniel!!

And I got to spend a couple days with the gentleman friend, and he took me to my first Seattle resident Mariner’s game!!!  We started the day at the food trucks outside the stadium, and he had been raving about the tacos de lengua from El Camion…they tasted bomb, but to be honest, I couldn’t get past the whole tongue thing.  Seriously, they looked like tongue.  And the whole mental thing.  This is the girl that’s eaten brains, and I couldn’t handle tongue.  Fail.  But seriously delicious.

Eating his tacos.

Meet Brent.  I finally got a few pictures of him for my mom the bloggy blog.

We had super close seats in the outfield!  YES!!!  C’mon Seattle!!!!

My first beer at a baseball game.  So American.  BLUE MOON!

WIN! 3-1 MARINERS!!

One of the best days I’ve had in a long time.  I love watching live sports, and I get really excited cheering on my Washington/Seattle teams!!!  I can’t wait to go to a Seahawks game for the first time later this year.  Maybe even hopefully a Sounders game too!

We got Indian food that night after he closed (that’s right, he still had to work after the game!  Crazy) and woke up the next morning to go to Costco.  I was so excited to pick out my new toy (below).  After Costco, we stopped by the brand new Haggens in Shoreline, decided we’d have to go back ASAP (so much great beer!), but also came across this awesome piece of art…a piano with an octopus!  I’d love to go up and play it for a while; I miss playing a real piano.

Buuuuut…*drumroll*

MEET MY NEW BABY, CROCKER!!!!!

My new baby for the Fall!!

I cannot WAIT to make stews, pulled pork, roasts, LOTS OF AWESOME FOOD in this.  (If you’re wondering about the name, Betty is the name of the Kitchenaid…Crocker seemed fitting, yeah!?)  I had some chicken wings in my freezer that had been there since Thanksgiving, I threw them in Crocker tonight with some corn syrup-free teriyaki sauce for a couple hours, and they came out perfect.  Falling off the bone.  Going to go buy more wings ASAP and throw them in with some buffalo sauce, gorgonzola, and cilantro.

And meet Crockette!

My new baby’s baby.

She was free.  Not really 100% sure what to do with her.

Recently, I’ve been crafting.  The big craft will be featured on the blog as soon as I’m done.  I’m so excited!  A really fun project that will be very helpful in my healthy journey, I think.  But I painted these pots to match said project, and I planted basil, chives, and grape tomatoes.

Then I found herbs at Trader Joe’s.  Because I still wanted to see what I could actually grow, I decided to *just* buy the rosemary and toss the tomatoes.  Also, tomatoes are out of season apparently.

My thumb is bright orange.  No green on this thumb.  I’ll be keeping y’all posted with pics on Instagram for sure!

Any recipe suggestions for Crocker, Crockette, or my hopefully soon new fresh herbs??

Leave a Reply

