Jason’s Pulled Pork on Paula’s Sweet Potato Biscuits

First things first, y’all:
1) Please read this entire blog with a Southern accent
2) Check this out!

‘A course, I had to stop around minute 19 to catch my breath BUT the REASON I had to stop and catch my breath was because I decided to take this 28 minute run on the hills, y’all! (Hence the reason the numbers are not mind-blowing.)  This run was not around the flat Greenlake path, or downhill all the way to the Greenlake Starbucks. This was around my apartment with lots of steady inclines.  Death, y’all.  But I felt so accomplished afterwards!

Also, craft project from last week is still coming along; slowly but surely. I’ve got to make another run up to Joann’s to get a few more things, but I’m really pleased with how it’s looking.  I’ve also started knitting again for the fall.  Currently working on a maroon checkerboard scarf.  I jumped the gun a little early and started before September this year.  Maybe I’ll actually have time to make Christmas presents this year…

But now onto the REAL reason y’all are here with me today!

I’m gonna be honest…the stats aren’t pretty.  Pulled Pork is not something y’all should be eatin’ on a regular basis if you’re trying to keep your fig’ur.  BUT I GOT A CROCKPOT AND I HAD TO DO IT!!!  Also my friend Jason made *BOMB* pulled pork a few weeks ago so I asked him nicely for the recipe.  🙂

But to be honest, I was PLEASANTLY surprised when I ran the stats for Miss Paula’s biscuits…when I made them, I came out with 15 a-little-too-thin-but-deliciously-moist biscuits.  But coming in at only 77 calories a piece?  Way to go, Miss Paula!!

Jason’s Pulled Pork with Miss Paula’s Sweet Potato Biscuits

10-12 servings
Serving Size: 1/3 lb pork (+ 1 biscuit)
Calories: 325 (402)
Fat: 26 g (30 g)
Carbs: 0 g (11.1 g)
Fiber: 0 g (1.7 g)
Protein: 21.3 g (23 g)

First, here’s the recipe for Paula’s Biscuits
Food Network: Sweet Potato Biscuits

The only swaps I made were Whole Wheat Flour for the all-purpose, and I did 1 tbs Splenda+1 tbs brown sugar instead of 2 tbs white sugar.  The brown sugar was actually a really great addition, I felt; there were pieces that didn’t quite blend in with the flour mixture and they sort of caramelized in the biscuits.  Delish!

3-4 pound pork shoulder (I found a boneless one, but you could go either way)
2 cans El Pato (go as spicy as you want; this just gives the pork a little bite)
1 can diced green chiles
1 white onion, diced
2 cups low-sodium chicken broth
1 envelope taco seasoning

Over medium-high heat, sear all sides of the pork shoulder (about 1-2 minutes each side).

Put in crockpot with all the other ingredients.  Cook on low for 9-10 hours.

Remove the pork shoulder.  Remove the sauce from the crockpot and puree it.  Put the pork back into the crockpot and pull it apart.  Add about 1/2 C of the pureed sauce into the pork, mix in, and allow to sit on low or warm for another 30 minutes-1 hour.

Serve over the sweet potato biscuits with a little bit of BBQ sauce.  And a pickle, y’all.

Leave a Reply

