Spaghetti with Roasted Stuffed Tomatoes (or, Deconstructed Spaghetti Sauce)

First off, YAY CHRISTINE!!!!  I definitely cried when they brought out the families on Masterchef.  And then cried when Christine won.  Doing abs while watching emotional reality tv?  Maybe not the best idea.

But seriously.  I was definitely a Becky fan by the time we hit top 10.  I liked her stuff, I liked her tenacity, and I thought she had what it took (and when Gordon Ramsey offered her a position in any one of his restaurants?  GAAAAAH.  Bawls-ville).  I was excited to buy her cookbook.  Christine’s cookbook will be great, and she was definitely my #2 pick…and seriously, HOW STINKING COOL.  Her taste palate must be phenomenal.  Props to her, and I hope she can go far with this title.

Now onto food.

So those Trader Joe Gorgonzola crackers are addictive.

So now I must put them in EVERYTHING.

Like this recipe. I adapted it to make it easier and include stuff I already had in my pantry/refrigerator. It’s easy to do that. I almost chopped up some zucchini and added that! Next time…

Spaghetti with Roasted Stuffed Tomatoes
(or, Deconstructed Spaghetti Sauce)

Adapted from: The Italian Dish
2 servings
Serving Size: 2 oz spaghetti + 2 tomatoes
Calories: 505
Fat: 19.6 g
Carbs: 57.4 g
Fiber: 7.2 g
Protein: 18.4 g

4 oz whole wheat spaghetti
2 oz cubed pancetta
1/2 C TJ’s gorgonzola cracker crumbs (it was about 1 cup of the crackers pre-blender)
1 tsp olive oil
2 tbs reduced fat Parmesan cheese, grated
~1 tbs Italian seasonings
1.5 tsp minced garlic
1 tsp onion powder (or substitute some chopped & sauteed onion…I didn’t have one on hand)
Crushed Red Pepper Flakes
4 tomatoes, hollowed out
Salt & Pepper
2 tbs shredded cheese for top (I used an Italian Blend…parm would be yummy)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a bowl, mix the crumbs, pancetta, olive oil, grated Parmesan cheese, Italian seasonings, garlic, onion powder, and a dash of red pepper flakes (season with salt and pepper if preferred).  Fill the four tomatoes with the mixture, drizzle a little more olive oil on top, and bake for about 30 minutes.

While the tomatoes are baking, cook the noodles as you normally would.  Before serving, toss the cooked pasta in a little more olive oil, a little fresh ground pepper, and then add the roasted tomatoes.  Top with a shredded cheese, and you have a dinner that’s perfect for entertaining.

Leave a Reply

