Detox Smoothie – 25 Days of Christmas: Day 1

Picking day one for 25 days of Christmas was a difficult choice, but then I realized I’ve never posted my favorite smoothie recipe!!!!!  It’s a great way to get your fruit servings, probiotics, some greens, and BREAKFAST in one!  So while you’re munching on all those tasty Christmas goodies, maybe try replacing breakfast or lunch with one-two of these?  They really energizing, delicious, and actually filling!

I really like making large batches and freezing them.  They are so easy to drink while I work, and I’m terrible about getting my fruit servings in, so this is a great dose of Vitamin C for me.
20121201-005111.jpg

Detox Smoothie

Makes 4ish smoothies

Greens (Spinach is a great choice, I really like the green mixes that include spinach, swiss chard, and kale…arugula is a little strong, I learned)
2 bags of 365 frozen fruit (Mangos, peaches, all the berries…I love everything except the pineapple…it’s really fibrous)
1/2 C carrot juice (I use Bolthouse Farms 100% Carrot Juice)
1/2 C orange juice (I use Naked OJ)
1 C coconut water
1/2 C frozen cranberries
2 bananas
2 packets Emergen-C (optional)

Let all the frozen items you are planning on using thaw for about 20-30 minutes before hand so they blend easier.  You can totally freeze bananas by peeling them, cutting them into slices, and bagging them into snack-size ziplocs.  This makes them totally usable for smoothies and you won’t have to worry about them going bad!!

In the blender, add 1/4 C carrot juice, 1/4 C orange juice, 1/2 C coconut water, Emergen-C, and fill the rest of the blender (loosely) with the greens (a handful or two).  Blend.

Add 1/2 of each of the bags of fruit, 1/4 C cranberries, and one banana slowly.  Add more coconut water if necessary.

Pour into mason jars or ziploc bags.  This recipe makes anywhere between 30-40oz of smoothie, so I’ve done this a few different ways:
1) 16oz Mason Jars: The above recipe makes 4+ 16oz mason jars.  The downfall is these take up a lot of space if you’re going to make a large batch.
2) Ziploc bags: 2 quart size Ziploc bags.  These take up less room in the freezer, and after thawing them out, I usually pour them into mason jars for transportation/drinking.

Leave a Reply

