Roasted Beet and Goat Cheese Wonton Ravioli – 25 Days of Christmas: Day 3

Beets are probably my most recent food love. I had never had a beet until I was in Spain when my host family used to put them on salads all the time, and I fell in love pretty quickly. I loved the smooth texture, the earthy taste, and the bright color. Guys, I fell in love with CANNED BEETS. What!?? So imagine my surprise when I tried Trader Joe’s Roasted Beet Salad, and then I attempted to replicate. Love times 10. I have been eating beets on a regular basis since. Beets and goat cheese is probably my favorite combo ever, so of COURSE I had to try to make a roasted beet and goat cheese ravioli.

But alas, I am lazy. I don’t do the whole homemade pasta thing. And that’s where the wonton wrappers come into play. They are a godsend.

I followed Iowa Girl Eats directions for her homemade wonton ravioli, but instead stuffed them with this delicious beet filling. So easy.

20121202-230829.jpg

Roasted Beet and Goat Cheese Wonton Ravioli

1 package wonton wrappers
3-4 beets
Olive Oil
3 oz goat cheese
1-2 tsp balsamic vinegar
2 tsp minced garlic, separated
Lemon juice
Rosemary

20121202-232512.jpg
Drizzle olive oil over the beets and wrap in an aluminum packet.  Seal all sides!  Roast at 400 for about an hour, or at least until they become very soft.  The skin should come off easily after this.

20121202-230808.jpgIn a food processor (or a blender if you are lame like me and do not have a food processor), mix the beets, goat cheese, and balsamic vinegar.  Taste it as you slowly add the balsamic so it doesn’t overpower.  I also added a squirt of lemon juice and a little bit of olive oil to make it a little easier to mix up.  LOOK AT THOSE BRIGHT COLORS!!!!

20121202-230756.jpgThen follow the instructions on Iowa Girl Eats’ website to make the ravioli.  Super easy.

20121202-230759.jpg
I only did about one teaspoon per wrapper.

20121202-230803.jpg
When you’ve got it all folded up into the wontons, freeze them on a cookie sheet and parchment.  I recommend doing them the night before so you can make them for dinner!

Saute the ravioli in olive oil over medium heat for about 3-5 minutes until they’ve started to brown.  Add a 1/4 C or so of water and cover them.  Let them boil for a few minutes, and then remove the cover to allow the water to evaporate.  I served them with (probably a little too much) olive oil, garlic, a squirt of lemon juice, and rosemary.  So yummy!!  If you have any goat cheese leftover, I bet that would be delicious sprinkled on top, too.

20121202-230813.jpg

20121202-230822.jpg

One thought on “Roasted Beet and Goat Cheese Wonton Ravioli – 25 Days of Christmas: Day 3

  1. Pingback: Beet “Crostinis” with a Goat Cheese Sweet Potato Pureé | Magic Wands and Wooden Spoons

Leave a Reply

