Candy Cane Meringues with Mint Truffle Kisses – 25 Days of Christmas: Day 4

What is a plate of Christmas cookies with meringues?  A great gluten free options that even your gluten-loving friends will devour, meringues have always been a staple in my holiday baking.  This year I decided to make them candy cane-licious and add one of my all-time favorite holiday candies, the Mint Truffle Kisses.

20121203-134406.jpg

Dark chocolate with a mint truffle center?  TO DIE FOR.  And super great in these cookies.

20121203-134230.jpg

Candy Cane Meringues with Mint Truffle Kisses

3 large egg whites
1/4 tsp cream of tartar
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 C sugar
3/4 tsp vanilla
5-6 small candy canes, smashed
Mint Truffle Kisses (or any flavor kisses really)

Preheat the oven to 225 degrees.

Whip the egg whites on high until foamy.  I use my Kitchenaid and just let it go to town for about 5-7 minutes.  Add the cream of tartar and the salt, and watch for soft peaks beginning to form.

Slowly add the sugar and continue whipping until it is glossy and has started becoming stiff.  Turn it down to low and add the vanilla and candy canes.  When it’s totally mixed, cover two cookie sheets with parchment paper.

Here’s my thing about meringues: you can go to the effort of making them pretty with a frosting bag, piping out pretty circles.  But I personally do not have the patience.  And they taste the same regardless of how they look.

Spoon small dollops onto the parchment.

20121203-134213.jpg
Push the kisses down into the dollops of meringue.  I used the kisses to kind of clean up any rogue tips.

20121203-134217.jpg
Add another spoonful on top, just enough to completely cover the kisses.

20121203-134220.jpg
Bake for about 45 minutes.  Go in at about the 20 minute mark and rotate/rearrange so you get even baking.  Once it’s done, turn the oven off and allow the meringues to sit in the oven for another 30 minutes.

Trust me guys, these are some of the easiest cookies to make, especially if you have a Kitchenaid mixer to do the mixing for you.  As long as you take the time to whip the egg whites to a frothy peakiness, and you are patient while they cook, these really add some variety to your Christmas cookie baking list.  🙂

20121203-134227.jpg

20121203-144733.jpg

25 Days of Christmas Bonus!

A short review of Pyramid Brewery’s Winter Variety Pack

So the variety pack includes 4 different kinds of beers: The standard Pyramid Hefewezuin, their Snow Cap winter beer, and two specialty seasonal ones, an Oatmeal Stout and a Chai Wheat.  I bought the variety pack because of the Chai Wheat (I really wish breweries would release their specialty seasonals in bombers or 6-packs…I hate spending $13-18 on a 12 pack just to get three of the one I want).
I like their hefe and their Snow Cap, both of which I had had before, but neither is really anything to write home about.  I was actually really pleased with the Chai Wheat!  The chai  was not overpowering, just a subtle spiciness, which I really liked.  Christmas-y without being in your face.  The Oatmeal Stout was underwhelming.  I wouldn’t have guessed oatmeal was the ultimate goal if I hadn’t read it on the box.  :-\  Not bad, but definitely not a standout.
Overall, I decent variety if you’re headed to a party.  If it’s on sale and you like their other beers, definitely give the Chai Wheat a try.  But otherwise it’s not something I’d say you absolutely have to try this season.
Any other seasonal beers/breweries I should check out this Christmas?  Or even any wine/wineries?  I’m all about trying new beverages!

20121203-134238.jpg

One thought on “Candy Cane Meringues with Mint Truffle Kisses – 25 Days of Christmas: Day 4

Leave a Reply

