Candy Cane Martini (with Candy Cane Infused Vodka) – 25 Days of Christmas: Day 7

Have you noticed this last week I’ve already had two posts that are all about the candy cane? I’m a little obsessed with the peppermint flavor that is EVERYWHERE this season. Believe me, the first day Starbucks has peppermint mochas? I’m there. I even sought a Starbucks out when I was in London for a peppermint mocha.

Mainly because I didn’t know how to say it in Spanish.

Don’t judge.

So this is my last candy cane related post (as of what I have drafted up on my to-make list), and let me tell you, I think you’ll like this one. It’s easy and tasty and quite potent.

And pink. Don’t forget pink.

I also discovered that taking pictures of drinks is WAAAAAAY harder than taking pictures of food. 1) They are more difficult to make look interesting, and 2) they are more difficult to make look interesting (in retrospect, I should have rimmed the glass with crushed candy canes…next time). Also my photographic equipment is lacking. So forgive the pics, and just enjoy the beverage.

20121205-003938.jpg

Candy Cane Martini

1/2 750-ml bottle of vodka (you’ll see what I used the other half for later!!)
12 mini candy canes, plus more if you want to garnish
White Creme de Cacao
Fat Free Half and Half

Put the vodka in a sealable container (I used a 20oz canning jar). Add the candy canes and set aside, away from sunlight. You will have a decently strong peppermint flavor pretty quickly as the candy canes dissolve in a matter of a couple hours. I had it sit there for a few days, but it seemed that the flavor strength was there by the next morning.

20121205-142616.jpg

Also, it’s really cool to be able to tell people that you’re infusing your own vodka.  People seem impressed.  Honestly, you just put shit in a jar and let it sit for a few days.
20121205-142622.jpg

The drink recipe I used is as follows: 2 parts vodka, 1 part creme de cacao, 1 part cream. Shake together and pour into glasses. Delish.

20121205-003942.jpg

Leave a Reply

