Roasted Eggplant Spread (ie Baba Ganoush) – 25 Days of Christmas: Day 8

Storytime: My host dad in Spain made this for us on a pretty regular basis and “¡No besos!” after this dip.  (ie no kissing boys after eating this…it pretty much wrecks havoc on your breath.)  BUT IT’S SO DELICIOUS!!!  And good on everything.

It wasn’t until I was happy houring at Saffron Grill that I realized this was essentially baba ganoush.  Maybe a little different, but still delicious!  It’s something that’s not hummus but it’s awesome and exotic.  Serve it with some pita bread or pita chips, and people will love it.

Why is this a Christmas recipe?  I don’t know, Christmas reminds me of my semester abroad, and I’ve never posted this recipe.  So there.

It’s definitely one of those season-to-your-own-taste type of recipes, but the gist of it is below.

20121205-222900.jpg

Roasted Eggplant Spread

1 eggplant
1 head garlic
Olive Oil
Salt & Pepper
Smoked Paprika
Cumin

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Line a cookie sheet with aluminum foil.  Cut the top off of the head of garlic, drizzle with olive oil, and completely wrap it up in some foil.  Put on the cookie sheet, and bake the garlic for about 15 minutes.

Cut the eggplant in half.  Drizzle the inside with olive oil (I use a brush to spread it evenly, make sure the whole white part is covered in olive oil) and lay cut side down on the cookie sheet with the garlic.  Put back in the oven for about 20 minutes, or until the eggplant is tender and slightly browned.

20121205-222856.jpgScrape the inside out and throw it in the blender (or food processor).  Squeeze the garlic out into the blender, and add about 1-2 tbs olive oil, a couple shakes of cumin, and 5 or so shakes of smoked paprika.  Blend slightly, taste, and add salt, pepper, cumin, and paprika as needed.  I like it still kind of eggplant-lumpy myself, but I over blended for my own personal taste and got a really smooth dip.  Regardless, it’s awesome and I love it on pretty much everything (also great on gyros!).

20121205-222903.jpg

Leave a Reply

