Soyrizo Breakfast Casserole (a vegetarian dish for meat lovers)

Seriously folks. I despise tofu. Imagine my surprise when someone fixed me a breakfast burrito with soyrizo and I LOVED IT. What.

And I love chorizo. I love the flavor it adds, especially in tacos, but I hate all the fat that comes off of it when I cook it. Makes me feel gross.

I’ve looked at the stats…I know soyrizo isn’t that much better for you, but at least I don’t end up with a can-full of fat at the end of my cooking adventure. WIN.

So check out this dish. It was delicious, it’d be great for a brunch, I’m sure it’d be great if you made it the night before. I do highly recommend the Trader Joe’d brand of soyrizo, it’s the most crumbly of the ones I’ve tried. And inexpensive!!

20130807-222323.jpg

Soyrizo Breakfast Casserole

8 servings
Calories: 257
Fat: 17.15 g
Carbs: 11.83 g
Fiber: 3.16 g
Protein: 16.02 g

7 eggs
1/2 C skim milk
1 tsp EVOO
1/4-1/2 Walla Walla Sweet Onion, chopped
12 oz Trader Joe’s Soyrizo
1 zucchini, chopped
1 C cherry tomatoes, halved
1/2 C yellow corn
5 oz sharp cheddar cheese, grated

Preheat oven to 425 degrees, and spray a pan with non stick spray. (I used the rectangular pan one size smaller than the 9×13, not sure of measurements.)

Whisk the eggs and milk together in a bowl. Set aside.

Heat a sauté pan over medium heat and sauté the onions in the EVOO until almost clear. Remove the casing from the soyrizo and add the crumbles to the pan with the zucchini and corn. Mix it well, cook until heated through, and spread over the bottom of the pan. Add the halved cherry tomatoes, pour on the egg mixture, and top with the grated cheese.

Bake for 25 minutes, or until the cheese is brown and the egg is set. Cut into 8 pieces and serve! Add avocado, tapatio, guacamole, sour cream…whatever! Yum!

20130807-222329.jpg

Leave a Reply

