Meal Prep…Tuesday

I spend a lot of money eating out when I don’t meal prep.  Also I eat terribly.  But bllllerrrrrrgh if I don’t love the street tacos and tasty mango tequila beverages at Las Margaritas.

So my pledge to you this week.  I WILL NOT BUY MORE FOOD UNTIL MONDAY.  Which is my birthday celebration night.  So YAY!  (Also, my parents are coming into town, so there’s that meal on Saturday.  Sssh.)

Also I’m tired of bad photos.  I’m going to do some research and find some tips on how to make my iPhone photos better.

20131202-222155.jpg

Top Left: Roasted Zucchini Black Bean Goat Cheese Enchiladas (Meatless!) (4 portions)Top Right: Smoothies!  Mango-Raspberry-Coconut Water-Spinach-Vanilla Protein Powder (3)/Kale-Kiwi-Green Grape-Coconut Water-Coconut Oil (3)/Coconut Water-Chia Seed-Lemon Juice-Maple Syrup (4)
Bottom Left: Greek Risotto Stuffed Peppers (Beef, green olives, sauteed cherry tomatoes, basic risotto, feta…a few other random things) (2)
Bottom Center: Bacon Cheeseburger Zucchini Boats (recipe to come if I like them lots!) (2)
Bottom Right: Megan’s Mom’s Soup (I made this meatless, too!) (6)

My plan is pink & chia seed smoothies for breakfast, soup for lunch, green smoothies for snack, and one of the entrees for dinner.  I’ll have to make more smoothies in a few days, but everything else should last me through Sunday.  I have two extra entreés in case I find myself super hungry.

But seriously…I’m pleased with this plan.  It was very do-able.  I did all the cooking/prep in about 3 hours.  It’s healthy for the most part.  And all of this was sans-list.  I just knew what I had in the freezer, and headed to Trader Joe’s right after my shift.  Kind of scary.  So for next week (well, it’s birthday week…so maybe in two weeks, let’s be honest) I’m thinking:
-Smoothies
-Stuffed zucchini and/or peppers
-Casserole (like the enchiladas)
-Soup
-Rice or Pasta dish
-Cut up apples and carrots, portion out some nuts or popcorn

I think sometimes I just get overwhelmed with the amount of things I want to make, or I make a lot of food I dislike and get bored with (plain chicken breast with veggies and brown rice…blech) and then I don’t eat it, but this week I think I’m good…there’s enough variety for new recipes in case I’m not a fan, but I *love* the soup, so no worries there!  YAY!  Meal prep, here I come.

Leave a Reply

