Prepping Food with a Ridiculous Schedule

Brief catch-up:

I tried a new recipe a week in January, and continued it into February! A few good ones below:

20140316-221710.jpgThyme-Rubbed Salmon with Shallots & Cauliflower “Risotto”//Beer Brined Paprika Chicken//Carb-Buster Breakfast//Cheddar Stout Chicken Pot Pie//Baked Brie with Amber Ale-Caramelized Apple and Pancetta//Brown Sugar Rosemary Pork Chop with Brussel Sprout, Onion, & Apple Slaw

Can you tell I’m obsessed with The Beeroness?  Also she just moved to Seattle…I want to be best friends with her and soak in all her abilities and beer knowledge.

20140316-221741.jpg

The Seahawks won the Superbowl, and we closed Les Miz.  It was an emotional week.

//End catch up.

Guys.  I am literally overbooked.  I’m working at two different pizza restaurants, and I have an internship at the 5th Avenue Theatre.  Here’s my schedule:
M – Pizza PH 11-3, Pizza BO 5-10
T – Pizza PH 11-3, Pizza BO 5-10
W – 5th 10-3, Pizza BO 5-9
Th – 5th 10-3, Pizza BO 5-9
F – 5th 10-3, Pizza PH 4-8:30
Sat – Pizza PH whenever they need me
Sun – Pizza PH whenever they need me

See why I’ve been absent?

Also I haven’t worked out in…forever…

It should be noted that Pizza BO is in Bothell, WA…a solid 30-45 minute drive from my house.  So all that in between time is generally spent commuting.  Holiness.

Look how behind I am on Bloglovin’!  Although it should be noted my recent time-waster is definitely Tinder…don’t judge…

20140316-221715.jpg
So because I’ve been unable to schedule in a work out (I know, I could just wake up early, buuuuuut that sounds gross), I’ve been trying to be really conscious about what I’m putting into my body.  I have Saturday and Sunday nights after my shifts generally free, so I’ve been using Saturdays to chill and Sundays to prep food.

Cooking for one is hard.  The usual complaint.  Taking boyfriend application.

I had a friend ask me about what I do, so I thought I’d share on here what I did for this week.  It changes up week to week, but the general outline stays pretty much the same:

5 breakfast items
5-6 main meals (usually 2 different options)
5 veggie snacks
5 fruit snacks
Kind bars

A not great photo of my half of the fridge post-prep:

20140316-221719.jpg

Calorie Count:

Breakfast Raspberry Mango Green Tea Smoothie 174 cals
Snack #1 Veggies & Guac, String Cheese, GF Crackers 336 cals
Lunch/Dinner Thai Peanut Chicken Quinoa Bowl 457 cals
Snack #2 Apple Slices & PB&H Yogurt Dip 202 cals
Dessert/Second Shift Fuel KIND Bar 200 cals
Total: 1,369 cals

I know it doesn’t look like a lot of calories, but it’s low enough that I can eat that messed-up pizza slice or a small plate of nachos when I get home without feeling guilty. It’s also one of the reasons I’ve taken to picking a quinoa-based lunch/dinner (literally, I eat it at like 3pm, it’s definitely a lunch/dinner). It keeps me full, tastes good cold, and goes with everything. I’ve been trying to incorporate more meatless days in my eating schedule, as it’s cheaper, and requires me to incorporate more fruits & veggies to get to my caloric intake requirement, but this week I was hardcore craving chicken thighs.

(Recipe swaps in the Thai Quinoa Bowls: Subbed six brussel sprouts for the coleslaw mix, no peanuts, added 1C frozen veggie mix, no egg, only 1/2 lb chicken thighs, because that’s what I had/wanted)

20140316-221729.jpg
I also made Quinoa with Caramelized Butternut Squash & Roasted Brussel Sprouts (464 cals, swapped 1 tbs almond slivers for the pepitas, and used 1/4 C parm cheese because that’s what I had) for my other Lunch/Dinner.  Made the full recipes of each, and divided between three.  I honestly couldn’t believe how low the calorie counts were for both…I expected them to be so much higher!  Win.

Shopping list for this week:
Trader Joes:
Nonfat Plain Greek Yogurt (2C)- $2.79
Frozen Mango Fruit Chunks (24oz) – $2.69
Frozen Raspberries (12oz/ea x2) – $4.96
Organic Apple Slices – $3.49
Chili Sauce – $1.29
Brussel Sprouts – $2.29
Mini Pearl Tomatoes – $2.29

Whole Foods:
Chicken Thighs (1/2 lb)- $3.18
Frozen Butternut Squash – $2.99
Local Honey – $5.99

Target:
Wholly Guacamole Singles (6-pack) -$3.89
KIND bars (4 pack) – $4.99

Things I already had: Soy Sauce, Rice Vinegar, Sugars, Zucchini, Carrots, Crackers, String Cheese, Quinoa, Frozen Veggies, Green Tea, Peanut Butter, Oils, Almond Slivers, Parm Cheese, 2 KIND bars

This grocery shopping trip was pretty light…usually I end up spending $50-75/week.  Buying less meat has definitely kept it on the lower end, which has been nice.  I’ve also been buying less wine & beer, and I’ve been replacing my night time drink with tea most of the time.  I definitely wined tonight while I prepped, because you gotta.  😉  Weekends have become total freebies because they have to be.  Or I’d be sad.

These Ziploc containers are a godsend…the 100-cal packs of guac and hummus fit great in the upper right space.

20140316-221725.jpg

I’ll be honest…it gets monotonous.  And some (most) days a pizza looks way better than my cold quinoa.  BUT that’s why I’ve been experimenting with different recipes for my main meal, and stick to snacks I already know I love.  Seriously, that PB&H yogurt dip?  Holy BOMBDOTCOM.  (Are the kids still saying that?  No?)  And I could eat all six of those single serving guacs in one sitting, no prob.  Hence the purchase of the single servings.  😉

So that’s my meal prep basics for the week.  If there’s interest, I’d gladly break it down into a step by step and show how I time manage in a small kitchen…I’m not a pro, but I’ve been getting better every week!

Stayed tuned for an announcement later this week about my summer goals.  It definitely involves the following, and not any sort of exercise.

20140316-221735.jpgHasta mañana, Seattle.  Love you.

Leave a Reply

