Seattle Beerventure Pt 2 – UDistrict/Greenlake/Greenwood

20140713-230018-82818465.jpg

The Plan

I took the day off so I could attend my friends Jes & Randy’s opening night of Jane Eyre at Taproot Theatre in Greenwood.  Decided to make the most of it and do some more beerventuring up that way since I knew I could bus/walk the whole thing.  Thankfully, I had some friends with car who ended up doing some driving as I had a MASSIVE migraine/hangover at about 12:30am that I think was especially brought on by the walking in the sun, even despite drinking massive amounts of water.  Blergh.

Check out the total progress we’ve made HERE!

3.7 miles/77 minutes/3 car rides/6 breweries/31 beers/4 Untappd badges

Ram Restaurant & Brewery
Big Time Brewery
Elysian Tangletown
Bluebird Microbrewery
Lantern Brewing
Naked City Brewing

Screen Shot 2014-07-20 at 3.42.47 PM

First off, check out this gorgeous mountain I got to look at as I walked to The Ram from my bus.  Holiness.  Pacific Northwest for the win.

20140713-230023-82823072.jpg

The Ram

20140713-230019-82819127.jpg

Beers I Tried:
1. Blonde
2. Big Red IPA
3. 71 Pale Ale
4. Saison
5. Disorder Porter
6. Barefoot Wit
7. Hefeweizen
8. Buttface Amber Ale

I like the Ram just fine.  It’s always been a decent place to go with friends for Happy Hour, and to watch sports.  That’s just kind of the atmosphere.  Good burgers!  And I’ve always had great service.
$4.99+tax/6 beers (plus she gave me tasters of the two seasonals)
Holy lots of beer!  Holy not good beer!  Sorry, but it was really mostly terrible.  The Amber & the Blonde are the only two I’d order, and even then, I’d go for happy hour food.  Not for the beer.  The Porter was hands down the worst; it reminded me of a “grapefruit” scented all-purpose cleaner I have in the house.  When the overall flavor is household cleaner, that’s a problem.

Big Time Brewery

20140713-230019-82819263.jpg

Beers I Tried:
9. Coal Creek Porter
10. Prime Time Pale Ale
11. Sunbreak Blonde
12. Atlas Amber Ale

Interesting space; total college ave alehouse.  Would go back to buy some of their beer, but the pub aspect wasn’t really my thing.  Ran into an old coworker Luke in the kitchen, and he made me a sandwich!  Thanks Luke!!
$5.25/4 beers
LOVED the porter.  The blonde and pale were fine, but the porter hardcore stood out in this set.  I also really liked the flavors of the amber, but I took to long to get to it and it had warmed up quite a bit, which brought out some bitterness.  Should have started with it and ended with the porter instead.

Elysian Tangletown

20140713-230019-82819710.jpg

Beers I Tried:
13. Loser Pale Ale
14. The Immortal IPA
15. Avatar Jasmine IPA
16. Mens Room Original Red
17. Dragonstooth Stout
18. Swashbuckler Vanilla Porter

I’ve been to all three of the Elysian locations (mostly Cap Hill, since it’s so close to my house), but figured this would be the one to hit on a beerventure since it helped close the gap between UDistrict and Greenwood.  GREAT location, love how close it is to the lake, love the open doors in the summer, and Elysian always has such a great clientele and staff.  Love them.  And this is where my solo beerventure ended and Chris met up with me!
??/5 beers (bought an extra taster)
I love Elysian beer.  I’m a big fan of their Superfuzz that’s out this summer (a blood orange pale), and was obsessed with their coffee milk stout this past winter.  Can’t WAIT for pumpkin beer fest!  Liked the pale & mens room, wasn’t huge on the Immortal, but I was surprised at how much I really liked the Avatar Jasmine.  I could drink that IPA!  But the Swashbuckler…HOLYCOW.  I like my beer sweet, and this one didn’t disappoint.  Amazing smooth, vanilla flavor, and I don’t think they have this one at the Cap Hill location.  Gotta get back to Tangletown ASAP!

Bluebird Microbrewery

20140713-230020-82820231.jpg

Beer I Tried:
19. Weedwhacker Wheat Ale

I was really disappointed when we hit Bluebird…they were out of the Theo Milk Chocolate Stout (which is one of my favorite beers in Seattle, so I was excited to beerventure it!), and when we asked about a sampler, the guy behind the counter was not enthused, I think because they were out of everything except the wheat.  Which was a good wheat beer, but the store was practically a sauna, and we weren’t allowed to sit outside with our beers.  We drank quickly, skipped the ice cream (they have *good* ice cream), and crossed the street to the 74th St Alehouse to wait for Pam.

Lantern Brewing

20140720-152552-55552822.jpg

Beers I Tried:
20. Blondine
21. Witbier
22. Pale Ale
23. Tripel
24. Kriekenwit
25. Lucienne

You guys.  This place is great.  The beer was pretty tasty, and the staff was so awesome!  And the space!!  They were the only place that didn’t have anything to stamp our passports with 😦 but they are so close to the Spees house, we definitely will be back for more beer and with the PupSpee.  Really cool tasting room off of Aurora.
$8/6 beers
For the most part, I liked all the beers…I had Mike finish the Witbier and the Tripel, cuz they weren’t my favorite, but the Krieknwit was delicious.  Next time we go, that’s what I’ll get a pint of.  For sure.  And I’d like to try some of their darker stuff if it’s on tap.
Also, hit my 200th beer here!

20140713-230021-82821624.jpg

Beerventure Breaktime: Taproot Theatre!

20140720-152553-55553752.jpg

Pretty much you should go see Jes kill it in this show.  And her and Randy’s duet is great and I want to hear them sing more together, please and thank you.  And support Taproot.  That was my first show I saw there, and I wasn’t disappointed.  Nick Giac came as my Kate Jaeger date replacement (le sigh), so he got to tag along for the last leg of the beerventure!

Naked City Brewing

20140713-230021-82821484.jpg

Beers I Tried:
26. Sad Eyed Lady of the Lowlands (Blonde)
27. Betsey’s Mountain Amber
28. Yankee Drifter (Blonde)
29. Pinkerton Porter
30. Brute Force IPA
31. Crossfire IPA

Naked City is great.  Also they’re right next door to Bills, so I was very confused and thought I was going to get some pizza.  No such luck, but those corndogs were bomb.  Dipped in the fancy fry sauce especially.
??/6 beers
Seriously, my photos get worse as the beerventures go on, don’t they?  I guess that’s to be expected.  Liked the Blondes, did not like the IPAs.  Much much much to hoppy for my taste.  At that point, that’s as much as I remember about the Naked City beers, even with a 3 hours Jane Eyre break to sober up.  I think I was more tired than anything, and, like I said above, verge hangover/migraine.  Good quality stuff, it’s so close to Taproot and other places up there, I know I’ll be back.  But I will probably get pizza next door first.  Sssh.

(Nick really really wanted to get in the beer picture…)

20140720-152552-55552202.jpg

20140713-230023-82823762.jpg

 And now, my official post-Beerventure Pt 2 face, where I attempt to personify Sad Eyed Lady of the Lowlands.  Nailed it.

20140720-162544-59144881.jpg

Leave a Reply

