Seattle Beerventure Pt 3 – Downtown

20140725-113407-41647843.jpg

The Plan

This was the last beerventure I could do for a while (I apologize for the belated posting…a month late.  Forgot this was sitting in my drafts!)…just finished up a show in Issaquah, and now I’m back waiting tables! So here’s to hopefully another beerventure soon!
I will say…this is not the Seattle Beerventure I would necessarily recommend (unless you wanted to skip Gordon & Rock Bottom, and hit up Bluebird on Cap Hill & Elysian instead).  It was half good/half mediocre beer, and it draaaaaained my wallet.  Started the day with $60…I think I ended with $5?  Only bought ONE HOT DOG besides the samplers (and I obviously tip decently, because DUH).  Definitely the most overpriced beer, just not worth it.  Sorry.  A couple good breweries, but not worth a whole excursion.  Hit them up separately for sure.

Check out the total progress we’ve made HERE!

2.6 miles/53 minutes/5 breweries/29 beers/3 Untappd badges

Six Arms – McMenamins
Gordon Biersch Brewery
Rock Bottom Brewery
Pike Brewing
Pyramid Brewing

Downtown Beerventure

Six Arms – McMenamins

20140725-113407-41647307.jpg

Beers I Tried:
1. Nitro (whatever was on…it was definitely some kind of stout, not on Untappd)
2. Ruby Ale
3. Hammerhead Ale
4.India Pale Ale
5. Terminator Stout
6. Ugly Puppy

You just can’t go wrong with McMenamins.  Their Happy Hour is amazing (cajun TOTS), and I like their beers a lot.  Also, it seems like this location has gotten a lot more chill in the last year; I’m not as stressed out for the servers/bartenders like I used to be.  I’m not as familiar with the Roy St. location, but I know I’d go there more if it was closer to my house.
$8+tax/6 beers
I honestly do not remember what the nitro was…wish I did, because I remember liking it.  But I almost always like nitros.  That smoothy smoothness!!  The Ruby and Terminator are my go-to’s at this place, but I actually really enjoyed the Hammerhead.  Not generally a pale ale fan, but this one was good, not too hoppy.  Ugly Puppy was a dark belgian ale, and it was good.  A sweet aftertaste that I enjoyed.
And then Jason ordered the Smokestack Mac & Cheese (bacon and smoked mozz)…I only had three bites.  It was magical.  I will go back for this any day.  (Also their brownie dessert with caramel sauce is TODIEFOR.  GET IT.)

20140725-113406-41646649.jpg

Gordon Biersch Brewery

20140725-113405-41645136.jpg

Beers I Tried:
7. Golden Export
8. Hefeweizen
9. Czech Style Pilsner
10. Märzen
11. Schwarzbier
12.Maibock

Guys.  Gordon Biersch was the worst.  Comparable to the Ram.  I wouldn’t have chosen it, but this challenge.  Gotta catch ’em all.  Jason even refused to drink beer and decided to go with a spicy pinot noir.  His words.  He also refused to make a nice face for the camera.  Jerk.

20140725-113405-41645620.jpg

$6.50+tax/6 beers
The Golden Export and Hefe were fine.  Nothing to write home about.  Did NOT care for the Pilsner or the Maibock.  The Märzen is what I’ve ordered in the past when I’ve eaten there (fine), but the Schwarzbier took me by surprise; I liked the coffee flavor.  But again, just overall not good.  I think the Schwarzbier just happened to be the standout.  I do not recommend this brewery unless you’re doing the challenge.

Rock Bottom Brewery

20140725-113406-41646066.jpg

Beers I Tried:
13. Kölsch
14. Belgian White Ale
15. IPA
16. Red Rocks Red Ale
17. Nitro Porter
18. Summer Blonde Honey Ale

Rock Bottom has decent food, but the bartender was really great here.  I was definitely a fan, it’s so close to the 5th Ave, and the food isn’t super overpriced (just a little overpriced), I’d go here again.  Maybe not for great beer, but for the atmosphere and location.
He charged me for one happy hour beer instead of the sampler…thanks bartender!
Liked the Kölsch, the Red, and the Porter.  Standard, yummy beers.  At this point I was decently toasted, so my note-taking suffered.  But I was very emphatic about the Honey Blonde, and did not care for the IPA or Belgian White.  Normally I’m a Belgian White fan, so dunno what happened.  All I wrote was “Meeeehhhh…”
*facepalm*
We also proceeded to send this photo to our bosses.  Hey Chad & Lauren!

20140725-113404-41644599.jpg

Pike Brewing

20140725-113404-41644443.jpg

Beers I Tried:
19. Naughty Nellie
20. Pale Ale
21. IPA
22. Kilt Lifter
23. XXXXX – Extra Stout
24. Monk’s Uncle – Tripel Ale

I love Pike Brewing.  I’m just glad they let me back in after the 26th Birthday Fiasco of 2013 where I apparently unknowingly propositioned the bartender.  Whoops.  Sorry, dude.  #vodkaredbullproblems
$12+tax/6 beers (<-efffff)
Naughty Nellie and Kiltlifter are two of my standard Seattle recommendations for out of towners; great beers, especially the Kiltlifter.  That and Boundary Bay are what got me into Scotch Ales.  I actually had never tried anything else from Pike that was on the sampler, so I was really excited to hit up this one.  Disappointed in the cost for sure (I know, it’s in tourist central), but the pints are reasonably priced during happy hour.  Liked the other four just fine, wasn’t too big on Monk’s Uncle or the Pale, but I didn’t hate the IPA!!  YAY!  The Stout was pleasantly smooth, but a bit bitter for my liking.  Give me a sweet stout any day.
And Jason is totally over it and this is where he ditched me.  I walked to Pyramid by maaaself.

20140725-113403-41643896.jpg

Pyramid Brewing

20140725-113402-41642568.jpg

Beers I Tried:
25. Hefeweizen
26. Curve Ball Blonde
27. Apricot Ale
28. Thunderhead IPA
29. Alehouse Amber Ale

I love going to Pyramid on game day!  Until I recognize the bartender that Megan left my number for last Christmas…who never called…*hides under hat**note to self: always wear a hat to Pyramid for this reason*
But seriously, the food is good.  Again, it is overpriced and nothing to write home about, but it’s yummy and you’re always surrounded by Seattle sports fans.  We actually went during an M’s game, and it was great.
$10+tax/5 beers
YOU JUST CAN’T GO WRONG WITH PYRAMID.  Not a huge fan of their Thunderhead (of course), but everything else was great.  I love their Apricot Ale and their Curve Ball.  Their Hefe is good and can be found on a lot of taps in Seattle.  The Amber was the only one I’d never tried, and I really enjoyed it.  They are my go-to sampler from the grocery store when I know I will be entertaining people, or am headed to a get together.  They’re drinkable, yummy, and relatively inexpensive.  And I really like their Snowcap, Strawberry Blonde, and Sounders Blonde beers.  They’re like a diner’s chicken potpie of beers; by no means mom’s homemade, but it’s comfortable and sometimes exactly what you need.
And cute bartenders.

So many fans!

20140725-113403-41643601.jpg

And no pictures of Chris, who joined me for this last leg, purely because I fancy myself a magnificent food photographer when drunk and I’m pretty sure I took photos from at least five different angles on my phone.  Good grief.  Drunk Heather is not a humble Heather.
Happy beerventuring!

20140725-113403-41643121.jpg

Leave a Reply

