Seattle Beerventure Pt. 7 – The New & Far Out

No Plan

If there’s one thing I learned on the Seattle Beerventuring, it’s that there are so.many.breweries.  And they are everywhere, and constantly closing, opening, reopening, moving…good grief!!!  But it keeps things exciting and honestly, as long as there’s a beer in my hand at the end of the day, I don’t really care.

Below are all the breweries that I had to make specific beerventures to get to; a couple I was able to group together, but for the most part, it was one at a time.  Burdick is the only brewery I currently* have left to hit on the Seattle Beerventure Challange (they had closed for renovations when we did the West Seattle trip, but recently reopened for 7 days a week…I’m coming for you on Wednesday!!  …also West Seattle Brewing got a new brewer, and I really really really want to give them a second try…)
(*Ravenna Brewing is opening soon…the beerventure is never ending)

There is no order to the below breweries…I just plugged them in as I found the photos on my phone, and then found them in Untappd.  Wahoo!

Check out the total progress we’ve made HERE!

N/A miles/hella minutes/8 breweries/36 beers/9 badges

Standard Brewing
Hellbent Brewing Co
Spinnaker Bay Brewing
Flying Lion Brewing
Outer Planet Brewing
Urban Family Brewing
Holy Mountain Brewing
Lucky Envelope Brewing

Standard Brewing

Beers I Tried:

1. Cascadian Dark Ale
2. Beet Ale Juice
3. Wheated Red
4. Bee’s Wine Ginger Beer

Really nice brewery down in the Central District…super small, I was very impressed with what they did with the space brewing-wise, and I would love to see this place move to a larger place.  The beer was very palatable, and I’d be curious to see what they did in different seasons.
The CDA was hella strong and the wheated red was very drinkable though not necessarily anything special.  I was glad I was able to hit Standard while they were brewing their beet ale; very odd, very respectable, not particularly my cup of tea, though honestly it didn’t not work.  I’d definitely recommend a taster of it if you love beets like I do!  The ginger beer however is worth the trip alone.  It was amazing!!!  So sweet, so refreshing.  Loved it.

Hellbent Brewing Company

Beers I Tried:

5. Olympic Hills Spring Ale
6. Jasmine Wheat
7. First Born IPA
8. Funky Red Patina Red Ale

Yes yes yes yes yes!!!!  All the yeses.  This brewery is super new (literally opened early June, maybe?), it has an AWESOME space; great couches, great patio.  It’s right up the street from Elliot Bay in Lake City (we hit the West Seattle EBBC), so not too hard to get to, and there’s more good beer & food down the street when it closes.  Check it out ASAP!
$8+tax/4 tasters
Honestly loved them all.  Even the IPA was drinkable for me.  Really can’t wait to see what they do in the coming seasons and what they are going to do with all those taps they have…

Spinnaker Bay Brewing

Beers I Tried:

9. Riptide Rye
10. Amber Ale
11. Black High Heel CDA

Cool older tasting room.  A bit far south, but within walking distance of Columbia City.  They were out of a lot of beer which was a bummer, but the folks at the bar (I assume they were regulars) were super chatty and fun to listen to.
$2/taster
Spinnaker Bay puts out some decent beer.  I’ve had a few of their things at festivals and bars and am always pleased with my choice, but never super impressed.  Of all three of the beers, the CDA was probably the most flavorful.  The other two were fine but nothing mind blowing.

Flying Lion Brewing

Beers I Tried:

12. Single Hop Pale
13. Another IPA
14. Oat Pale Ale
15. Imperial Rye Stout
16. Double IPA
17. Bière de Garde

This brewery was part of a warehousey-strip mall.  About a 15 minute walk from Spinnaker if you want to mini-Beerventure.  Small space with a patio; bartender was a younger guy who was super friendly and I really appreciated his enthusiasm for the brewery (maybe the brewer?).
$12/6 tasters
They are a newer brewery (opened in the last year) and I think they’re still trying to get their feet under themselves.  Good beer that I think is on the way to being great.  The Oat Pale was really refreshingly light; I don’t think I’ve ever had a Bière de Garde but that was definitely my favorite of the bunch.  The Double IPA was kind of chemically, though I am not a double IPA fan, so I may not be the best judge (this was a solo beerventure, I didn’t have the Toby tastebuds to gauge the stronger beers!).  The others were extremely drinkable.

Outer Planet Brewing

Beers I Tried:

18. Bohemian
19. Rye Saison
20. Oatmeal Brown
21. ESB
22. IPA
23. Barleywine

A brewery on the Hill!!  I know, I know, we have Elysian and Six Arms, but this is a small new craft brewery and it just feels different, OK!?  And it’s within walking distance from my house!  Cute little hiding spot on 12th Ave, easy walk to the Pike/Pine area, and a decent amount of indoor seating.
Again, another new brewery I think is still trying to get their feet under them, but a really solid start.  I enjoyed everything we tried with the exception of the Barleywine (not my thing).  My favorites of the night were the Oatmeal Brown and the IPA, though everything else was still really good.  Excited to keep tabs on this brewery, especially since it’s so close!

Urban Family

Beers I Tried:

24. So West It’s East
25. 1885
26. The Velvet Edge
27. Year 1
28. Wheat Pale Ale

I was sad our Ballard beerventuring got screwed up when this place moved (I had balanced everything out! #evertheplanner), though truth be told, this was one of the Seattle breweries I didn’t hear great things about.  But I waited and waited for it to reopen only to be really freaking impressed.  Kicking butt, Urban Family!  I don’t know what was going on before or if I just had some negatively opinioned friends, but I definitely say check it out if you can make it out to Magnolia.
$2-3/Taster
Really dug the Velvet Edge, but the Wheat Pale Ale was definitely my jam in this sampler.  The other three were enjoyable; I could enjoy a pint of any of these beers.  Glad to see a small brewery getting into a large space and flourishing.

Holy Mountain Brewing

Beers I Tried:

29. King’s Head Double Oat Brown w/ Coffee
30. Wayward Black Beer
31. Watchman’s House Oaked Lager
32. The Ox

Out in Interbay, this brewery was a little hard to find (we definitely drove by and had to turn around…also parking…), but DAMN.  DAAAAAAAAAMN.  If there’s A brewery that craft beer snobs have to hit in Seattle, it’s this one.  If I remember the conversation, they’ve been brewing since October and only recently opened the tap room.  Very spacious.  Also a short walk to Number 6 Cidery, which I’ll be talking about in another post (because JUST GO).
This beer is great.  It’s flavorful, smooth, different.  We’ve been selling their Wit at a few of our pizza locations, and it’s become one of my standard go-to’s already.  If I see their handle, unless it’s one of their oak-aged, that’s usually what I’ll pick.  The King’s Head and Ox were so smooth and flavorful; rich, but not too heavy.  Black Beer and the Lager were definitely Toby’s choice, but he gave them very high marks.  I’ve been meaning to go back ever since, but have made sure to recommend them to all my beer-loving friends.

Lucky Envelope Brewing

Beers I Tried:

33. Helles Lager
34. Citra IPA
35. British Stout
36. Fog Dart Pale Ale

Another great addition to the Ballard beer family!  Right in the heart of Brewery-ville, Seattle, it’s in a warehouse/office building type place.  Patio & indoor seating, big open garage doors, and really spacious while maintaining a cozy feel.
Really solid beers; while nothing really jumped out, I admit I picked the safe beers.  I really need to start being braver with my choices when solo-beerventuring, though the options I passed over were the Thaiger Mom Trippel and the Two Pepper Pale.  Definitely going to go back with the boyfriend and give this place a second go-round.  The Citra was my favorite and really, really great…the Lager and Pale were both refreshing and something I’d order pints of.  Great start!

Leave a Reply

